Mimesis: THE OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENT!!!

Eric Sipple
Sippy Speaks
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2019

--

Happy New Year, friends and readers! Thank you all for stopping by. I won’t take up too much of your time, but I have some exciting news and I wanted to tell you all in person. Oh, and there are pastries and mimosas on the table in the back. Please help yourselves.

Let’s cut right to the chase: My next novel, Mimesis, is locked, ready to go, and will be in your hands so very very soon! It’s been a long road to get here, and there have been all the usual bumps along the way that you might expect, but we’re finally here. There’s still work to do, and a cover to finalize, and an ebook to put together, but the boulder is officially over the top of the mountain.

What is Mimesis, you ask?

Good question! If you just flip over the invitations in your hand, I think you’ll find the answer there.

How long can love survive in secret? Samantha and Danica have done everything to hide their relationship from their parents and classmates, and the strain is unbearable. But getting caught could be the least of their problems. Their deception has drawn the attention of a danger greater than either could imagine: the Rusalka. Creatures bound by pain and magic to play out a timeless tragedy again and again. Are Samantha and Danica fated to be the latest actors in this doomed romance, or can they create a story of their own before it’s too late?

Mimesis is a young adult horror novel, and other than being in the same technical genre as Broken Magic, it’s something very different than my work so far. It grew out of the desire to play in the sandbox of bringing folklore into the world of today, and freeing those stories from the traditional gender roles of their times. Where it went from there brought me to more personal places than I expected, and I’m prouder of this novel than I am of anything I’ve yet written.

(And that’s not self-deprecation. I’m really proud of some other stuff, too!)

In the coming weeks, I’ll talk more about what it was like to come back to self-publishing, what writing something darker and scarier meant to me, and some thoughts on the world of publishing and how I’ve finally found my way to solid ground and a path forward that I’m sincerely excited about.

I’ll announce the exact release date soon, too, when I can also share the mind-blowing cover art that’s in progress.

Thank you all for coming. I’m thrilled to be back, terrified to be on the cusp of releasing work again, and ready to charge ahead.

Oh, and take some pastries home with you. There’s no way I can eat all of that myself.

--

--

Eric Sipple
Sippy Speaks

Programmer by day and writer by night living in Pittsburgh, PA. All my work is done with a keyboard. Find me at http://saalonmuyo.com