Norman
Sisitech Limited
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2020

--

FULL-STACK.FRONT-END.BACK-END

3 monitor screens
Photo by: Max Duzij

Normal, for me, means typing function expressions on my code editor careful not to break Javascript hoisting rules per the ES6 module. The damn thing takes you buckets of coffee to debug if you misspell something. I could say that the cause of my baggy eyes happens to be my night forays with work but a couple of those have been spent debugging misplaced semicolons or forgotten commas. At least, JS nowadays leaves room for pettiness. It pats us, developers, on the back. I know a couple of programming languages that can be quite annoying; shading eyebrows to their variables and mascara to end of statements, one might think they’re getting married. I’m no snitch but I can’t just Pass Here Plainly without rolling my eyes a little. Excuse my thoughts, my mind has been known to wander.

There are three screen monitors staring at me like peasants waiting for their master to shake his wand and produce magic. They wag their tails at the excitement that greets them whenever I jump off my chair when a piece of code works. Some times, without a clue why but no one is holding a hammer over my head (deadlines have to be met). Furthermore, code reviews are there for that — don’t go telling my boss. The best developers I know, always optimize their code for the best performance further along with the agile sprints when the project manager takes a break from breathing down their necks.

Lately, the front end side of development has been fondling my brain. The long pursuit between being a full stack and a fully-fledged front end guy seems to be veering off towards the latter. I love playing with colors and animating components showing off to the end-users how powerful the web applications they interact with are. User experience and design have some sexiness. They lure users making them caress the web applications oblivious to how big their contributions are to minimizing the site’s bounce rate. Not holding myself hostage, the back end does have a pull in the way its logic arouses my mind to spectacular possibilities. It also brings the cash from investors dipping their pockets for the latest technologies. One is allowed to be selfish, eating from both worlds has never caused harm has it? Which side do you lie?

--

--