Balpolam Idi-On Wearing Many Hats

Interviewed by Ifeoluwa .A.

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ
6 min readDec 6, 2021

--

Our society has evolved to the point where multi-tasking across career paths and defined roles has become more rule than the exception. In this interview, Ife gets up close and personal with Ballie, who is a physical and health educator, a culture enthusiast, a project manager and a writer, amongst other things and takes on the world wearing these hats gracefully.

Ife: Thank you for making out time for this chat today. Can you tell us a little about yourself, please?

Ballie: My name is Balpolam Idi. I am from the Jahr tribe in Bauchi state. My childhood was pretty basic, something quite common in Northern Nigeria. I love to read, and I like cats a lot. I also love to travel and try new food. I graduated from the University of Jos, and I am a Physical & Health Educator by training. When I am not doing that, I am a serial volunteer. I am also a writer and a culture enthusiast.

I: Please shed some light on each one of these things.

B: Physical & Health Education was a course I reluctantly accepted after applying for stories lab science. I had dreams of pursuing public health, but oh well.

I used to write a lot of stories growing up. I wrote about anything that came to mind or something that fascinated me, but I’d hide them. I shared a few stories with some of my close friends, and with some cajoling from one friend in 200L who asked me to write something for his department magazine, I finally started sharing my writing. With time, I graduated to print and began posting pieces on social media.

I: Interesting. Why did you hide them though?

B: For several reasons. First of all, I did not feel confident enough to share my thoughts because I had a lot of unpopular views. I like to ask questions, and they can get grating, making people think about things they would ordinarily not think.

I: Hmmm. Please go on.

B: For project management, I have been doing loads of such related things for some time now, but I did not have a name for it. It was not until my service year when I enrolled for training, and the centre had got certified by the British Project Management Society, that it became clear to me. Managing events and programs, organising, directing and planning have always come naturally to me. That is how my journey began.

I am a culture enthusiast because I am a village girl. Growing up, I spent a lot of time with my grandmother. I learnt many things from her. Her words of wisdom colour some of my views on the things and workings of the world. I am deeply rooted in culture, and I am passionate about all its parts and the many ways it manifests, especially in Nigeria. Primarily, it is because people have come to underestimate the power of culture. There is so much focus on the three major ethnic groups, forgetting that there are over 250 minor tribes with their stories, practices, values, traditions, food, dance, celebrations, and so many other things. It is part of the things I do at Sarauta, where we are focused on bringing many cultures together and helping young Nigerians understand that our similarities are more than our differences.

I: Interesting. How do you balance these many things?

B: Do we ever find a balance in life? I do not think so.

I: Well, I think we find a method to the madness.

B: I agree. However, I will only say that I am finding a rhythm. I try to be honest with myself and take my tasks in small doses. So, I do not overwork myself. The thing with being passionate about something is that you can easily bite off more than you can chew, thinking you can do everything, but you end up achieving nothing and disappointing people. For me, it is more about consistency than quantity. Lately, the most pressuring thing I have had to deal with is figuring out how to work a full-time job, write, and publish a book concurrently.

I: Oh wow, a whole book! Can we touch on that a bit? What is it about?

B: Well, going by the title, Growing Up North. It is a memoir about growing up in Northern Nigeria. It is a collection of the memories I have of different things that happened at different ages. I think it is slightly unusual because of the unexpected topics. When you read through the chapters, you will see stories about the most random things like a stool, a mat, a veil, etc., the small things that remind me of the values I embrace and how they affect my life today. In all my writing, I attempt to marry literal things with metaphorical truths. The book is published and available to the public

I: What was going on in your life when you started writing this book? What inspired it?

B: After NYSC, I was unhappy about going back home. I wanted to stay back and volunteer at a drug rehabilitation centre, but my parents were adamant. So, I went home, feeling empty. I served in Nasarawa state, to my dismay. I had my eyes on Akwa-Ibom state because I had been in the North all my life. While at home doing one chore or the other, a memory would randomly come to mind, and I’d leave whatever I was doing to write it down on anything I could find. It made no sense at the time, but I kept at it. It somehow made me grateful and somewhat kept me from getting depressed, giving me something to look forward to, and I started to see things differently. A few months later, I had about fifteen stories, and then I started considering putting them together for a book. The funny thing is I never thought my first book would be about me.

I: Besides volunteering, what else are you passionate about?

B: I am passionate about healthcare. One of the things I would like to do is to combine sports with healthcare. I would also like to pursue a career in sport science. My main aim is actually to help people with chronic illnesses manage their conditions

I: Can you tell me something interesting about yourself?

B: I do not think I am an intriguing person, but I like to talk to children because they are curious and have no inhibitions. They ask the weirdest questions that make me think and stay asking why. It is my favourite question.

I: What does the near future hold for you?

B: Since no one knows what lies ahead, one can only dream. It is free anyway. I hope to conclude my master’s degree and start my PhD. I want to publish more stories. I also look forward to travelling to one country in each region in Africa while making sure money finds its way to me.

Ifeoluwa is a four-eyed retired accountant who is now interested in other books. She is a witty and eccentric writer, who spends her spare time eating, sleeping, watching series on Netflix and avoiding Nigeria. Connect with Ifeoluwa on Twitter.

Edited by Adetutu A

Adetutu is a Creative writer and editor. Well, sometimes. Other times, she’s either binge-watching comedy series or reading books. You can connect with her on Instagram.

Published by Akinsipe Temitope

Temitope is a young storyteller who thinks all stories are worth telling. She loves to inspire people to do what they love and follow their passions, tell their stories, and live in the present moment. Connect with Temitope on Instagram, and Twitter.

More From Sisterly HQ

--

--

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ

Sisterly HQ is a digital female-focused and female-led publication that tells the stories of Nigerian women.