#HerFinance.

Interviewed by Olubanke Favour

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ
6 min readMay 5, 2022

--

In this article, we are speaking to Rhoda, a 22-year-old poet, who is also a Blockchain writer that loves books, chocolates, and beautiful gowns. She had recently switched from creative writing to tech writing. She says “Blockchain is the only rhythm my heart sways to.”

Favour: I know you gave us your bio but tell us a bit more about yourself. You seem interesting.

Rhoda: Talking about who I am has always been difficult. But let me give it a try. I’m a very spontaneous person. For reasons I cannot comprehend, my interests change faster than I can breathe. I’m a writer. No, that isn’t responsible for my chaotic interests, lol. Poetry was the love of my life until I learned about blockchain and that’s the only rhythm my heart sways to right now. Aside from writing, hanging out with friends, laughing a lot, and researching, I enjoy talking about things that excite me. I love Lana Del Rey, and Julia Michaels and the mere thought of dancing to them at the sea is dazzling to me.

F: Hmm, that’s cool. So when did you start writing?

R: I started writing so many years ago. I wish I could remember the exact date but unfortunately, I can’t. At first, I wrote random stories and poetry, but in 2018, I started writing properly. I wrote poetry until 2020 when I began writing articles for blogs.

F: How long did it take you to make money from it?

R: It took me years. I didn’t make money from being a poet for years. The only significant money I made was from ghostwriting a poetry anthology. That felt good because I had never been paid for writing poetry before that time. Also, I made money by writing articles for people. This came easy because I own a literary blog so I was familiar with writing articles.

F: What were your finances like at the time?

R: Terrible. In fact, it was the actual ghetto. I was paid at a low rate for almost every article writing job I wrote. After subtracting data money, I barely had anything left. My finances were nonexistent. That’s the word for it.

F: So how did you find tech? or… did tech find you?

R: *Giggles*. I was the one who found tech, and I found it through research.

F: Nice. Tell me about it.

R: It was during my internship at a law firm last August. I was given a task to write a comprehensive legal article on Insurtech. In my research, I found out what blockchain technology was all about and I was impressed with the features. Then in November, an acquaintance I worked for was trying to get a writing gig so she told me to write a test article on NFTs. Initially, the concept was foreign to me but as I researched it, I was intrigued. The test article was accepted and she got the gig. The following weeks were filled with researching and writing on blockchain technology and other concepts related to it. Throughout November and December, I wrote about the relevant concepts of blockchain technology. I researched more about them and dived into the practical aspect of it. I utilized blockchain products. I wasn’t just writing about these apps. I created accounts on blockchain-inspired apps/products. I perform transactions on them. I believed this would help me write better and it did. I also invested my time and small funds into the crypto space. I joined Discord so I could experience what I write about.

Despite the change in the niche, the pay wasn’t different from previous jobs. At the end of December, I wasn’t writing for the person anymore. I applied for a content writer role at an NFT Project on Solana and I was accepted. I got my first 50k from writing a proposal.

F: Your first 50k? That must have felt very nice. So what are your finances like right now?

R: To be honest, comfortable. I’ve earned over 400 dollars from writing Blockchain articles in the past few months. But I aim for more because my needs and interests are expanding as my income does.

F: Money woman, since the huge boost in your finances, what is that one thing you really wanted that you finally got?

R: I’ve always wanted to get myself a laptop and a better phone. I bought my laptop in February and my phone in March.

F: My apologies if I sound a bit razz but opor fun warisi. Is there anything you want that you are yet to afford?

R: A fully serviced apartment. I want it so bad. But I can’t afford it right now. I want to have my own working space, set up in a corner of my large bedroom somewhere in Lagos.

F: Do you save?

R: Yes, I do. I started with Cowry Wise but I wasn’t consistent with it because my earnings weren’t consistent. I still save but it’s not consistent. I just drop funds in my Emergency funds or Stash once in a while. I left it there for months. I also save for specific things I need to get.

F: I want you to imagine in 12 months, where do you see yourself financially?

R: In 12 months, I believe I’ll be a thousand times better at writing blockchain-inspired content. I hope to have launched a platform where resources are provided for writers who are interested in going into blockchain writing. I’m currently planning on co-publishing an eBook that contains important resources for interested writers who are new to the blockchain space.

Financially, I see more zeros as my rate. More zeros compared to my current net worth. And my Fashion Nova cart would definitely be cleared by then. And yes, an upgrade in my apartment. Let’s hope I’m still in the blockchain tech space by then because my spontaneity…

F: I honestly wish you the very best. Do you have anything to say to creative writers who would like to switch?

R: Surround yourself with good people. People who care about their personal development in every aspect of life. People who care about yours too. This is really important. I have friends who pushed me to do more for myself even when I thought I couldn’t do it. Don’t be limited by some job requirements. Blockchain space is a place where you learn on the job. Apply for that job even if the requirements seem a little too much compared to your portfolio. There are usually test tasks. Prepare excellently for it and do it. Don’t give up at the door without knocking.

F: Rate your financial happiness on a scale of 1–5.

R: I’ll say I’m on a 3. I want more. I want to work more and earn more. I’m hoping to invest more in myself and I intend to earn double.

Favour is a 400-level student of the faculty of law in the University of Lagos. She is a writer who finds joy in sharing stories through fiction and non-fiction. She loves food, fashion, and poetry.

Edited by Zulu Nneka Anyaogu

Zulu is a Lawyer, Programs manager, and Youth Human Rights Advocate who is passionate about women’s rights and the inclusion of young people in decision-making spaces. In her spare time, you’d catch her binging on movies, reading crime and mystery novels, and eating. Connect with Zulu on Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

Published by Akinsipe Temitope

Temitope is a young storyteller who thinks all stories are worth telling. She loves to inspire people to do what they love and follow their passions, tell their stories, and live in the present moment. Connect with Temitope on Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ

Sisterly HQ is a digital female-focused and female-led publication that tells the stories of Nigerian women.