Pivoting From Law To Tech: The Experience So Far

Written by Abisola Tiwalade Fayinka

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ
5 min readMar 4, 2022

--

One day, I had an epiphany to switch to Tech fully from tech law and I followed my mind and it turned out great.

Well, that is how I would have liked the story of my moving from Tech Law to Tech to have started, but this is not a movie, so it was more complicated than that. If you read my first tech article, which you can find here, you would know that I spent the last two years of my undergraduate studies advising various tech start-ups on the legal aspects of their business. I was having a lot of fun doing that, honestly, because of the different companies I got to work with. And getting paid to do that? Bliss. However, I am an adrenaline junkie (yeah one of those people who like getting on the next exciting thing) so while I was having fun working, I started wanting to do something else.

Photo by Moses Londo on Unsplash

Another back story…

Sometime in my final year, I tried to learn how to code. That was a very hilarious experience because I failed. I kept trying, but it was not as intriguing as I thought it would be, so I thought my hope of being a “Tech Sis” fully was over. I just focused on doing a good job at what I was doing. However, something fantastic happened in November 2021. I was scrolling through Twitter one evening when I came across a thread explaining the non-tech areas of tech like Product Management, Project Management, Growth, Marketing, Tech Sales, etc. I was intrigued. They all seemed great, but the Product Management path drew me in. I think the idea of being able to work on a product from the idea stage to the launch stage excited me. I liked the idea of working with different people with different skills to create a product and monitor the progress of the product after it had launched. I liked being the owner of the product and doing everything possible to make it viable.

Yayy, I finally found the intrigue I was looking for. I put out a tweet announcing to my 700 and something followers that I was now interested in product management and I would like them to send me books, links, online courses, etc. on product management. I got so many links to courses, articles, and slack communities on Product Management. I was so excited. I registered for my first product management boot camp a week after that, and I was tossed into a world of terms that I had never heard of before. Agile, Product Roadmap, User Research, User Persona, etc. I was overwhelmed. I had to constantly remind myself that no one learns it all in a day and I needed to give myself time.

After the boot camp, I took another online Product Management course on EDX, and I was learning so much in theory, but there was no way to practicalize it. I spoke to someone about learning more and she told me that no matter how many courses I took, it was nothing compared to actually being a PM. I knew I needed hands-on experience, so I called one of the founders that I had worked with earlier who didn’t have a PM. I spoke to him about joining his team, and he agreed. I started working with the team, and as usual, I was overwhelmed. There was still so much I didn’t know. I was hearing new things every day. I was reading so much to ensure that I understood what the developers were telling me.

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

Now it has been three months with the team, and I now know so much more than I did about three months ago, and I am working on a product that I am excited about (that’s my baby for now). There is still so much I do not know, but I am taking it one step at a time because those who know it now didn’t learn it all in one day.

If you have been considering transitioning fully to tech from any other career path, here are a few tips from someone who is still struggling with the transition.

1. Take your time. Nobody learns it all in a day. Don’t rush yourself.

2. Get an internship or a job as soon as possible. You won’t know if you know it until you have to apply it.

3. If you don’t have a background in tech, then you have to do a lot more than those who do. You need to learn the basics, so find books and articles that can help.

4. Take it one step at a time. It is easy to feel overwhelmed.

5. Some things won’t work out. Understand that trying and failing are part of the process. Don’t beat yourself up about it.

6. This is specific to Product Management. I have heard that the best place to develop your skills as a PM is at a start-up, so ask that your friend who owns a start-up about working for them. You learn things faster there.

Yours in transitioning struggles,

Tiwalade

Abisola Tiwalade Fayinka is a graduate of the Faculty of Law, University of Lagos. She is a technology law enthusiast and a start-up legal adviser. Connect with Abisola on LinkedIn, Instagram, and Twitter.

Edited by Naimah Akinoso

Naimah is an editor and product designer with a passion for interior design. She loves cooking, finding new recipes online, and trying them. She also loves reading and watching horror movies. Connect with Naimah on Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Dribbble.

Published by Titilope Adedokun

Titilope is on a mission to tell authentic stories of women and connect them with much-needed resources and opportunities. Connect with Titilope on LinkedIn and her personal website.

--

--

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ

Sisterly HQ is a digital female-focused and female-led publication that tells the stories of Nigerian women.