The Sisterly Boost Playlist

Written by Boma Praise George

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ
7 min readSep 26, 2021

--

Have you ever been working in the middle of the day when suddenly, you feel overwhelmed? You feel like you can’t possibly achieve all the goals you have set for yourself; you feel like you are not good enough and you want to quit. But, when you plug in your earphones and listen to a particular song, your entire mood changes. You are motivated. You feel strength rise from within you and you push past the fear, doubt and the desire to give up.

If you’ve ever experienced this, you’re not alone. We have all had moments where we feel like giving up or like we are not good, smart or strong enough. These moments will always come but what matters is how you deal with them.

How do you lift yourself up when you’re weighed down by the burdens of life, or work or school? How do you stir your confidence back up when someone or something knocks it down? How do you motivate yourself to apply for that scholarship or job even when a voice in your head tells you you’re not qualified or good enough? There are many ways to get through these situations but a trusted and tried solution is MUSIC.

Music is powerful. The right song with the right lyrics is like a balm to your soul and fibre to your bones. We all have songs that get us going when we need a “boost”. This is why I have compiled the Sisterly Boost Playlist.

The Sisterly Boost Playlist is a playlist of 5 songs with lyrics that will empower you, inspire you and remind you of the amazing and powerful woman that you are. You probably have songs that motivate you when you’re in a rut but I assure you that these songs will improve your current playlist by at least 50%. Are you ready for the music? Let’s go!

1. Try Everything by Shakira

Image source: Wikipedia

Let’s imagine you have a daunting task or application in front of you. You’ve given it your best shot over and over again but it still hasn’t worked out. You’re sitting in front of your laptop and you’re about to give up. Then, you hear these lines:

“Birds don’t just fly, they fall down and get up,

Nobody learns without getting it wrong.

I won’t give up, no, I won’t give in

Till I reach the end and then I’ll start again

No, I won’t leave, I wanna try everything

I wanna try even though I could fail”

How would you feel if you heard them? Motivated right? Even if you have no idea what you’re doing, these words alone will inspire you to get back up and try again. Even if you have to take a different approach, it’s always better to try, fail and learn, than to never try at all.

2. A Million Dreams by P!nk

Image Source: Shazam

“Cause every night, I lie in bed

The brightest colors fill my head

A million dreams are keeping me awake

I think of what the world could be

A vision of the one I see

A million dreams is all it’s gonna take

Oh, a million dreams for the world we’re gonna make

I believe that this song should be on every girl’s playlist. As women, we desire to see a world where all women are respected, have equal rights and have equal access to opportunities. However, there are times when this might feel impossible. But, as the writer of this song says,

“They can say, they can say it all sounds crazy

They can say, they can say I’ve lost my mind

I don’t care, I don’t care, if they call me crazy

We can live in a world that we design

This is the mentality that you must have. You must dare to dream, no matter how crazy your dreams might seem, because, with hard work and smart work, your dreams will come true.

3. Like You by Tatiana Manaois

Image Source: Shazam

“Cause you are strong

You are wise

You are worth beyond a thousand reasons why

And you can’t be perfect, baby

’Cause nobody’s perfect, darling

But no, no, no, no, there’s nobody in the world

Like you

If you ever need words of affirmation or a reminder of who you are, this song will do the trick for you. Although songs that say you’re a warrior, you’re perfection and so on might be good, the honesty of these lyrics is more reassuring. You do not need to aim for perfection because it’s an unreasonable standard. Rather, you should aim to be the best version of yourself at every point in your journey.

4. Firework by Katy Perry

Image Source: Kristian Løvstad

“Do you ever feel like a plastic bag

Drifting through the wind

Wanting to start again?

Do you ever feel, feel so paper-thin

Like a house of cards

One blow from caving in?”

The opening lines of this song most likely describe how you’ve felt at some point in your life or even right now as you read this article. Just as I said at the beginning of this article, these overwhelming moments or feelings will always come up. The real question is, what do you do when they arise? This song provides an answer.

“Do you know that there’s still a chance for you

’Cause there’s a spark in you

You just gotta ignite the light, and let it shine

Just own the night like the 4th of July

’Cause, baby, you’re a firework

Come on, show ’em what you’re worth

Make ’em go, “Oh, oh, oh”

As you shoot across the sky

From the lyrics, you can probably see why this song is a must-have on your playlist.

5. Roar by Katy Perry

Image source: Vishva Patel

“I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath

Scared to rock the boat and make a mess

So I sat quietly, agreed politely

I guess that I forgot I had a choice

I let you push me past the breaking point

I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything

The opening lyrics of this song describe the experience of a lot of women. We’ve all had moments at the office, at school, and even at home, where we’ve had to be silent and where we agreed with everything to avoid being tagged as “controversial”, “rude” or “stubborn”. But, just like the writer of this song, we need to realize that we have a choice, we have a voice and we must be heard.

“I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter

Dancing through the fire

’Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar

Louder, louder than a lion

’Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar

If you currently find it hard to speak up for yourself, or you’re in an environment where everyone tries to silence you, sing the chorus of this song to yourself until you receive the inspiration and strength to roar.

CONCLUSION

The right song is like honey to your soul. It can take your mood from 0 to 100. It can put a smile on your face, it can inspire you, it can give you the confidence you need to submit that job or scholarship application. The Sisterly Boost Playlist is a combination of 5 songs, or 5 jars of honey, which will lift you up and take you from saying “I’m tired; I can’t do it” to “I’ve got the eye of a tiger” in minutes. Enjoy!

Boma Praise George is a graduate of the Faculty of Law, University of Lagos. She is passionate about growth and development for individuals and businesses. She is currently a social media intern at WiiCreate. Connect with Boma on Twitter (@bomapg) for more insightful conversations

Edited by Chizulu E. Uwolloh

Zulu, named after Zulu Shofola, is a writer, avid movie watcher and self-proclaimed bibliophile. She is proud to call herself a feminist and when she’s not editing for Sisterly HQ and watching travel vlogs on YouTube, she’s trying to save the world in her own little way. Connect with Zulu on Instagram and LinkedIn

--

--

Sisterly
Sisterly HQ

Sisterly HQ is a digital female-focused and female-led publication that tells the stories of Nigerian women.