Image By Graeme J. Baty

Chelsea Wolfe: A Study of the Untamed Feminine

Femininity is dark, light, fluid and flexible

MeraBaid Kaur
Published in
6 min readNov 10, 2019

--

I might be a music snob. I’ve willed myself to be more respectful of music choices as I’ve aged, but I’m still picky. While I have my favorite artists that I go back to over and over again, I don’t like any specific genre more than any other. My music taste varies wildly and widely.

Chelsea is a musician I met when I was 21. At the time she was performing in very small venues and at open mics. She must have also been recording because I remember listening to her music on Myspace sometime after we met. Now Chelsea is signed to one of the most reputable labels for genius rock artists (in my opinion, and that of more knowledgeable music lovers than myself).

Chelsea has been the opening act for Queens of the Stone Age and collaborated with many well-known acts in her genre. Her music has appeared in television shows (like Game of Thrones) and probably more. Her style is described at folk-goth.

She’s extremely prolific with 10 albums in 13 years. Her songs often talk about death, spirits, suicide, and love. Her fans are die-hard, with many of them seeing her as a symbol of beauty, the object of desire, but she is a well-kept secret from mainstream music fans.

--

--

MeraBaid Kaur
Sistirring

Writer, work/wellness coach, educator, free-spirited mom. I believe in the village.