Dunder Mifflin, This Is Jake

Jake Weber
Sitcom World
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2014

--

I am dead tired but I need to write.

I am an unbelievably happy man. Today was damn near close to perfection. I got to spend time with some pretty amazing people and…gosh, I don’t even know how to describe today. I can’t.

I first began watching the Office when I was 14. I was with my ex-girlfriend at her sister’s house and they decided to turn on The Office. I heard of the show before but never had the opportunity to watch it, so I was pretty eager to see what the hype was all about. The first episode to ever hit my eyes was “Fun Run.” I don’t know what it was, but I immediately fell in love. Maybe it was the quirky-ness of the characters or the simplicity of the show or one of the many other amazing things about The Office. Point is, I was immediately hooked.

Not too long after I found out my Grandma had the first two seasons on DVD. So of course, I started from the very beginning. I was dumbfounded. These characters, the story, all of it was just too great for words. Michael Scott was and always will be one of the most defining characters in television history, whether it is outspoken or not. There is no other like him. Jim and Pam have stolen my heart this entire series has stolen my heart. Every character, every episode, every little thing about The Office brings me such overwhelming joy that right now I’m tearing up just knowing that it’s all over. What a journey for the cast and crew and a journey for me as well. But it’s okay. The Office has taught me so much. So much. However..

The finale taught me the most in an hour and fifteen minutes than anything else could. It just all hit me like a brick wall. Jim taught me that even a dream job can’t interfere with the most important thing in life: love. Dwight taught me how to be a leader. Angela taught me that sometimes you have to put your pride aside. Erin taught me that being weird is the best way to live. Andy taught me to chase after my dreams. Stanley taught me to drive fast & leave a sexy corpse. Phyllis taught me that the littlest things in life have the biggest meaning. Creed taught me that you can make any place home. Oscar taught me that being yourself can be the hardest thing to do. Toby taught me to appreciate my friends. Kelly taught me that being superficial is life’s biggest roller coaster disaster. Ryan taught me that looks, money, and power really can’t get you that far. Kevin taught me that many word make life long. Merideth taught me that sometimes you just can’t worry about how the world sees you. Darrel taught me that even if you start from the bottom you can make it to the top & beyond. Michael taught me that an office is where dreams come true. And most importantly, Pam taught me that there’s a lot of beauty in ordinary things. Isn’t that the point?

I could not be more grateful to everyone who has put this together in the name of “entertainment” — but rather what I call love. I’m going to miss the Dunder Mifflin crew. 8 years, 201 episodes, 1 amazing series.

Thank you.

#thatswhashesaid

Originally published at nothingbutjake.wordpress.com on May 17, 2013.

--

--