US Sitcoms are back, therefore the post-Christmas blues are over.

Matt Winter Watson
Sitcom World
Published in
3 min readJan 16, 2015

--

You know you’re a child of television when a string of brand new shiny episodes of your favourite comedy shows from across that large expanse of water that for some reason people refer to as a pond *deep breath* can bring you out of a tiny slump. I suppose this block of text that I hesitate to call an ‘article’ might contain spoilers of some kind, do with that information what you will. Although, can you really spoil a sitcom?

SPOILER ALERT the big laughs are at 3,5,11,12,16,18 and 21 minutes in.

I’ll start with Parks and Recreation because it’s reasonably popular, therefore more people are likely to continue reading. I must admit I was worried about this show coming back for one final season as I felt the sixth had ended quite nicely. My mind was put to rest though, as it turns out I can’t get enough jokes about it being the year 2017. The biggest plus point this show has is the emphasis that’s placed on characterisation. Not since Springfield have we seen a town with so many deeply developed central characters with a background cast of cartoonish personalities. It’s strange seeing Chris Pratt on the small screen after his latest Hollywood hits, it does feel like quite a few cast members have outgrown the show now. After finishing the episodes ‘2017' and ‘Ron & Jammy’ I realised that this show can do no wrong. They’ve set the end date and I’m invested enough in the people of Pawnee to follow them for eleven more episodes. I will literally be the saddest person in known existence when this show says goodbye.

I have it on good authority that It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. For me this show just keeps getting better, with season nine being my personal favourite. So how did the tenth kick off? With the gang taking part in a drinking contest whilst on a flight from Philly to L.A. Excellent. It’s Always Sunny feels like a live action South Park, in that it either tackles taboo subjects with risqué humour using intentionally flawed characters as puppets OR it’s just twenty minutes of over-the-top shouty humour. Either way it works. Danny DeVito has me in stitches every time he opens his mouth and drunk Danny DeVito is always a delight for the ladies. I’ve been informed by websites that the show has been renewed for an eleventh and twelfth season. Good. Brilliant even, as it’s finally hitting its stride. Which is amazing considering it was sprinting along at an olympic pace already.

Now for the newbie. This time last month I’d never even heard of Broad City. Like most US comedy shows that aren’t The Big S**t Theory it gets zero attention on UK TV. After watching the first series twice in two weeks I can’t decide if I’m in love with Abi and Ilana or if I want to be them. It’s clear with the latest episode ‘In Heat’ that this show is only going to get better. The only too relatable segment for any public transport user anywhere that serves as the pre-title gag is comedic perfection and the Seth Rogen cameo was an added bonus. The show is in the safe hands of Amy Poehler, serving as executive producer and presumably also spiritual guide. You could anticipate a UK air date on Comedy Central sometime in 2015 or do what people never do and watch these shows on streaming sites online. Someone should really do something about that by the way, seriously it must be illegal or something.

Okay so Portlandia isn’t technically a sitcom but it was the only comedy-based US premiere that I didn’t enjoy and I’d hate for something I write to be only positive. Sketch-shows are difficult to keep fresh at the best of times but when an entire episode is devoted to two characters that are long past the original joke, it makes for a tough watch. In defence of Fred and Carrie they tried to break the established sketch-show format with this one so I imagine (hope) the rest of the series will be back to its usual quirky self.

What comedy shows are you watching this winter season? I couldn’t care less so don’t try and tell me.

-MWW

--

--

Matt Winter Watson
Sitcom World

Student of screenwriting. I got lost on the way to the shops and ended up online.