The 30 Best Resources to Learn Marketing for Free

Lauren Holliday
SitePoint
Published in
5 min readAug 14, 2015

--

Pre-PS: I launched a Full Stack Marketer course. Check it out here.

Between January 2011 and January 2015, the number of job listings on Indeed containing “content marketing” or “content strategy” grew by about 350 percent; therefore, I think it’s safe to assume some of you startup founders are hiring a marketer or two.

But how many of you actually know anything about digital marketing, specifically social media marketing and/or content marketing? I’m guessing not many of you.

You’re probably thinking: Well, duh — that’s why I’m hiring someone to do it. Which makes me remember something my father told me a long, long time ago:

“Lauren, before you ever hire someone for a job, you better know how to do the job yourself.”

There’s a plethora of reasons why my father is right about this, but instead of boring you with all my arguments, I figure my time would be better spent telling you where you can quickly pick up these digital marketing skills.

Here’s a comprehensive (but not overwhelming) list of the best places to learn digital marketing online. Enjoy!

1. The Beginner’s Guide to Social Media

By: Moz, Cost: Free

--

--