Reddit Picks: Best Domain Registrar to Use in 2024

Zac Geekie
SiteWays
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2024
Best Domain Registrars in 2024
Image source (edited): Shutterstock/Daboost

I have bought and sold many domain names over the years. Some of them I registered myself and others I obtained through domain marketplaces/auction sites.

I’ve also used different domain registrars and continue to use a few of them. Yep, I don’t put all my eggs in one basket and my domain names are my precious eggs!

Each provider can set their own prices for the registration and renewal of each TLD they offer. Some of them have reasonable prices while others are clearly overpriced.

In this article, I’d like to focus on domain registrars that earn the approval of the finicky Reddit community.

Best Domain Registrars in 2024 (Top Reddit Picks)

Not everything recommended on Reddit is necessarily the real deal, but among the different domain registrars that are commonly vouched for on Reddit, the following are the ones that I personally favor.

1. NameCheap

NameCheap is the best domain registrar I have used so far in terms of affordability, ease of use and support.

They regularly run worthy discounts on different TLDs. The discounted price is only for the initial registration, but their renewal prices are reasonable as well.

NameCheap offers free Whois privacy with each domain registration (unless the TLD doesn’t support private registration). They also have cheap SSL certificates and a premium DNS add-on in case you need it.

2. Dynadot

Dynadot is my second favorite domain registrar and it’s one of the cheapest places to buy a domain name in 2024.

The website is pretty nicely designed and easy to use and they don’t push a dozen of useless add-ons and upgrades in your face every time you want to make a simple domain purchase.

I like the unique security feature Dynadot has, which is called Account Lock. This is an extra security measure that requires using a security PIN to unlock your account before performing critical changes to your account or domains.

This company is mainly focused on domain registration and they don’t have much to offer other than that.

3. NameSilo

NameSilo has many fans on Reddit and it’s also one of the registrars I’ve had a positive experience with.

Their prices used to be a little lower but I can’t blame them for the recent price hike, which followed fee hikes by the central registry of some TLDs.

I think NameSilo’s registration and renewal prices are still fair, plus you get Whois privacy for free. They also have a discount program for bulk registrations.

4. Cloudflare

Cloudflare is most recommended by developers on Reddit and I add my vote and vouch for this reliable provider.

Unlike the other companies on this list, Cloudflare isn’t looking to make profit from their domain registration service because that’s not their main business.

They are primarily focused on CDN and network security services and they offer domain registration to their customers at the lowest prices possible.

However, this may not be the best choice for a beginner because they don’t allow you to use third-party nameservers, which means you’ll have to set up DNS records manually.

5. Amazon Route 53

Route 53 is what Amazon calls their DNS services, which include domain registration and management tools.

Like Cloudflare, this platform is a bit advanced so I’d only recommend it for tech-savvy users who need an advanced DNS management service.

Amazon’s domain registration prices are a little higher than Cloudflare’s, but still within a reasonable range.

Conclusion: What is The Best Domain Registrar According to Reddit?

Overall, NameCheap, Dynadot and Cloudflare are three of the top recommended domain registrars on Reddit that I also vouch for.

NameCheap is a better choice for beginners while Cloudflare is more suitable for developers and advanced users who don’t mind configuring DNS records manually.

Best Domain Registrars 2024 Reddit

What is The Best Domain Registrar After Google Domains?

In case you missed the news last year, Google Domains was shut down and sold to Squarespace, which is mainly a website builder/hosting platform.

I think all of the registrars listed above are good alternatives to Google Domains, but if I had to pick one I’d go with NameCheap.

What is The Best Domain Registrar for Small Business?

NameCheap and Cloudflare are two of the best suited domain registrars for small business owners in my opinion.

NameCheap offers quick support and several additional services that small businesses may find useful.

Cloudflare offers highly reliable DNS and CDN services for small businesses, but like I said earlier, this provider is more suitable for developers and experienced website owners while beginners may have to go through a learning curve.

--

--

Zac Geekie
SiteWays

A seasoned geek who has been sailing the wild seas of the Word Wide Web for so many years. Always learning and trying to share some of my knowledge with others.