Jacqueline E. Juarez, College of Liberal Arts, Criminal Justice

SIU Alumni Association 2019 Textbook Award Recipient Essay

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association
1 min readJul 25, 2019

--

Jacqueline E. Juarez

Southern Illinois University has shown me how to become independent, unlock new opportunities, and how to invest in myself. The first time I stepped onto campus, I was interested in starting a new chapter in life, even though I was worried about how I was going to survive college without my parents.

As time has passed, I’ve learned to live on my own. I now manage my own finances, make sure I get my work done and control my sleeping schedule. SIU has given me many opportunities for jobs and new connections. I have built knowledge and skills, not just in my field of study but also in many aspects of life.

I have bonded with several girls from the club soccer program and other RSO’s, not to mention discovered new passions. I have uncovered a fascination for sociology throughout my classes and how it intertwines with my major, criminal justice.

In the short time I’ve been here I can truly say that I have gained confidence, independence and grown as a person. Southern Illinois University has had a big impact on my life and is bringing many positive changes my way.

--

--

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association

As the largest & oldest organization on campus, the SIU Alumni Association has been proudly serving SIU alumni & friends since 1896. https://www.siualumni.com