Salukis in Business — Holly Kruep

B.S. 2001 Liberal Arts — University Studies — Owner/Operator Karco, Inc.; RollnUp Retail Liquor Store chain

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association
6 min readOct 7, 2019

--

Holly Kruep

Holly Kruep, the president and owner of Karco, Inc, began working for her family’s business when she was 11 years old. Her father Ron Kruep, purchased a single Amoco Service Station in Mount Vernon, Illinois, in 1977, and grew the company to include over 20 Phillips 66 and BP service stations throughout Southern Illinois.

“I started out as a kid by counting and bundling coupons. I ran a cash register throughout high school and college, and managed my first store after I graduated. During that time, we had a few gas stations that were not successful, so we pulled the tanks and converted those sites to smoke shop liquor stores,” Kruep said.

Kruep said that the One Stop Smoke Shop & Liquor stores came into existence parallel to Karco’s existing convenience store business, so she felt like the she and the stores grew up together.

Holly and her father, Ron Kruep

And the stores they converted from Service Stations were successful, so in 2012, Karco sold its fuel assets to Circle K, and re-branded its One Stop Smoke Shop & Liquor shops to RollnUp. But, in a devastating turn of events, one week after the sale, Ron Kruep suffered a stroke and passed away.

“I was completely devastated and scared, but had comfort knowing the amazing team I worked with would step up and we would persevere. I took over as President and was able to purchase the company in 2013,” Kruep said.

RollnUp’s re-branding also occurred out of necessity when Kruep received a phone call from a friend asking about a new One Stop store in Zeigler, Illinois.

“I was confused due to the fact we didn’t have a One Stop in that town. I was able to get the folks that used our logo to take down their signage, but knew I had an issue because the name One Stop was not a protected trademark. We kicked around a ton of names, but in the end decided RollnUp was our brand,” Kruep said.

Rollnup has drive-thru windows at all of their location, specialize in Roll Your Own tobacco, and their customers can roll up and get cold beer or cigars, so RollnUp made sense as a name.

The current RollnUp logo

“I added my father’s initials RJK to the logo and made sure his image was over all of our shop doors. I used my C-Store background and knowledge to put a different spin on the traditional package store. I wanted our sites to be clean, bright, and shopper friendly. Rather than having a massive amount of inventory, we focus on brands and items our customer base enjoys so we can offer the most competitive price,” Kruep said.

Kruep said that being a tobacco and alcohol retailer has it’s challenges.

“The communities we serve know that we are a safe and responsible retailer and good partners in the community by supporting and sponsoring local events and charities. RollnUp employees are required to get their Basset certification, and as of July 1st we require patrons to be 21 and up to enter our locations. We currently have 13 RollnUp Stores throughout southern Illinois,” Kruep said.

Kruep said she almost missed her chance to be a Saluki because she loved working in the stores so much.

“When I was younger, I really didn’t see myself going to college. I thought of myself as a better employee than student. But my father gave the option of going to college, going to a trade school, or two years of tuition money to get a place of my own. I was extremely lucky to have parents that actually gave me options, but living in the basement and working at the gas station was not one of them,” Kruep said.

Kruep said her father told her that if she wanted to learn a skill, then a trade school would be a good fit, but she wanted to learn, think, and cultivate ideas, she needed to get into a university.

Holly in her SIU Carbondale regalia

“After visiting many schools SIUC was my number one choice. I fell in love with the campus immediately. I am so grateful I was accepted to SIUC, and that I chose to continue my education,” Kruep said.

Kruep lived in the towners during her freshman year, and “got to be a phenomenal stair climber” as the fire alarms in the building were regularly pulled as a prank. She also worked at the SIU Arena.

“It was the best job! I was excited to go to work knowing I would get to watch a basketball game or concert when my job at the box office was completed,” Kruep said.

Through that job, she was introduced to former SIU Alumni Association Executive Director, Michelle Suarez and her husband Gary Robinson.

“They became my biggest influences at SIUC. I worked at Tres Hombres for several years while going to school. My time at both jobs guided me to pursue more business and marketing classes. Working and taking a full class load taught me time management and organization. I am grateful I learned that lesson before I began running a company and taking care of my family,” Kruep said.

Kruep said she really enjoyed her time at SIU Carbondale, and that figuring out what kid of learner she was made a tremendous impact on her life and her career.

“I struggled with grades due to my poor test taking abilities. But when I started studying in Morris Library and observed the different ways people would study, I figured out that I was an audible learner, and from that point on I struggled less, and actually made Dean’s List. To this day I will read contracts or reports out loud into my phone and then listen to the recording,” Kruep said.

Karco/RollnUp sponsors many activities in the Southern Illinois region.

And Kruep’s involvement with SIU did not end after graduation. In 2015 she was asked if she would be interested in serving as a director on the SIU Alumni Association Board.

“I was intimidated and worried my schedule would not allow it, but it is really hard to say no to Michelle Suarez. After a phone call I was submitting my info to the board and excited to get back to campus,” Kruep said.

Kruep said her time serving on the Alumni Board has given her an opportunity to advocate and celebrate SIU Carbondale.

“I am proud to be a Saluki and as a member of the Association Board is an extension of that pride. SIU Carbondale truly shaped me, and joining the Alumni Association and serving on the Board helped me recognize and appreciate my awesome alma-mater! I am keeping my fingers crossed that my 11-year-old daughter will be a Saluki someday,” Kruep said.

Ron Kruep still keeps a watchful eye over his family and their customers.

Kruep also serves as Vice President of Illinois Petroleum Marketers Association and is active in her community through different organizations, which include Cedarhurst Center for the Arts and St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

Kruep grew up in Mt. Vernon, Illinois, and resides there today with her husband, Chris Campo, also a Saluki alumnus (’00) and her daughter.

“Salukis in Business” celebrates the our Saluki Alumni who have taken the risk to go into business for themselves. If you’d like to be the focus of this weekly feature, or nominate someone you think we should feature, please email us at: alumni@siu.edu.

--

--

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association

As the largest & oldest organization on campus, the SIU Alumni Association has been proudly serving SIU alumni & friends since 1896. https://www.siualumni.com