SIU Alumni Association 2021 Scholarship Recipients

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association
12 min readJun 8, 2021

Alongi Legacy Scholarship:

Ethan Zettler, Tamaroa, IL

Ethan Zettler, Tamaroa, IL: “I am absolute honored to receive this award and this must mean that the Alongi family loves me, haha.”

Black Alumni Group Book Stipend:

Amber Toussaint, Carbondale, IL

Amber Toussaint, Carbondale, IL: “To receive this scholarship is a positive reinforcement of how important it is to not only be black and educated but use your education to spread equity within the black community. Black people hold a cultural responsibility to prioritize the education of our younger generations, if not us then who?”

Arnold Ukagwu, Lansing, IL

Arnold Ukagwu, Lansing, IL: “I am honored to receive this award by the Black Alumni Group at SIUC. It is a great resource that will help me achieve success in my educational goals.”

Destini James-Bryant, Carbondale, IL

Destini James-Bryant, Carbondale, IL: “I am extremely thankful being a recipient of this award. It will give me the added financial security to assist with the purchase of my books and supplies, but not only will it help me tremendously, it will take some pressure off my mother who is having financial difficulties.

While I am constantly trying to find more work and searching for scholarships that will help me pay for my education, I remain grateful to find opportunities like the one the Black Alumni Group has provided to assist black undergraduate students. This past year has been very challenging with a lot of highs and lows, but each one of them has only strengthened me to make me the person I am today.”

Holliday Maxwell, Carbondale, IL

Holliday Maxwell, Carbondale, IL: “I really appreciate being selected for this award. Thank you for choosing to invest in me and my education. Receiving this award brings me one step closer to my goals!”

Chicagoland Chapter Scholarship:

Kyle Groe, Bolingbrook, IL

Kyle Groe, Bolingbrook, IL: “I was pleasantly surprised and deeply honored to be chosen as the recipient for the Chicagoland Chapter Scholarship by the SIU Alumni Association. I’ve been excited to be able to attend the SIU Automotive Technology Program after comparing it to numerous other colleges, their programs, and their locations. After taking the campus tour in February with my dad, I’m even more excited to get on campus in the fall to start my ambitions. I could not get my dad to stop talking about all the memories he had while he was down there for his degree in Construction Management. I’m hoping to have just as strong of a career in the automotive field, as my dad has had in his career, since he graduated in the early 80s. Again, I am truly honored and humbled in receiving this award.”

Matthew Pawlowski, Mundelein, IL

Matthew Pawlowski, Mundelein, IL: “I’m honored to be the recipient of the Chicagoland Chapter Scholarship. Your generosity is going to help me fulfill my goals and pay it forward in the future.”

Christopher Columbus Jones Scholarship:

Jayla Glass, Carbondale, IL

Jayla Glass, Carbondale, IL: “I am beyond grateful and very honored to be the recipient of the Christopher Columbus Jones scholarship. Currently, I am pursuing a degree in Public Safety Management at SIU. During my educational journey, I have experienced a few challenges along the way which have actually strengthened me to be able to successfully achieve the Dean’s List this past semester. This scholarship will provide me with the opportunity to further my education, enabling me to reach my fullest potential setting even higher goals for myself. Thank you for this scholarship which I believe will aid in the opening of numerous opportunities for me in the future.”

Jackson County Chapter Scholarship:

Dallas Douthett, Makanda, IL

Dallas Douthett, Makanda, IL: “I am very happy and appreciative to learn that I was selected as a recipient of the Jackson County Chapter Scholarship. This scholarship will help soften the financial costs of enrolling in Southern Illinois University for the 2021–2022 school year. This scholarship will also help me focus more on the most important aspect of attending schools: learning. I hope to assure that my freshman year academics will reflect the merits of this scholarship. Thank you once again for this generous support. “By being a recipient of this scholarship, my efforts made in maintaining a high GPA through high school have been rewarded. It urges me to continue to strive towards success in both academics and in life.”

Mallory Troue, Murphysboro, IL

Mallory Troue, Murphysboro, IL: “Thank you so much to the SIU Alumni Association for this award! As a third generation SIU student, it means a lot to me that SIU is giving me the resources I need to reach my career goals!”

Conor Gleason, De Soto, IL

Conor Gleason, De Soto, IL: “I am incredibly thankful for this award, and I’m so excited to start studying forestry at SIU. Southern Illinois is such a beautiful place and I can’t wait to learn more about its natural wonders. This scholarship is an important step towards helping me achieve that future.”

Jodie Meredith, Carbondale, IL

Jodie Meredith, Carbondale, IL: “It is an honor to accept this scholarship as a means of supporting my future education at SIU. I look forward to using this opportunity to give back to the community.”

Jackson County Family YMCA Scholarship:

Natalie Cutler, Murphysboro, IL

Natalie Cutler, Murphysboro, IL: “Thank you so much to the Jackson County Family YMCA for this ample scholarship! I’m looking forward to using it to continue my education as an elementary school teacher. I’m highly grateful for your ongoing support!”

Skylar Miller, Carbondale, IL

Skylar Miller, Carbondale, IL: “Your scholarship has opened a door and the prospect of a brighter future and will play a key role in shaping me into a successful person in the future. I cannot express my gratitude enough, and I want you to know that your generous support will see me achieve my dreams.”

Chloe Calhoun, Makanda, IL

Chloe Calhoun, Makanda, IL: “I am incredibly grateful to receive this award. This award will help me to continue my education and achieve all that I set out to. I am also so appreciative for even the opportunity to be recognized and considered for this award.”

Marissa Ivory, Carbondale, IL

Marissa Ivory, Carbondale, IL: “Receiving the Jackson County Family YMCA Scholarship provides an opportunity to relieve some of the financial burden associated with attending college. College is expensive but scholarships allow students to put their focus on their academics, instead of worrying about bridging a financial gap. As a proud Alumni of Carbondale Community High School, I plan to continue to exceed expectations, pursue academic excellence, and blaze a trail for future salukis. I am grateful for the alumni that have made this scholarship possible, I will make you all proud! Go DAWGS!”

Legacy Scholarship:

Abigail Frankel, Carbondale, IL

Abigail Frankel, Carbondale, IL: “Being a recipient of this award means a lot to me, as I am the daughter of two SIU Alumni and will have two degrees from SIU myself. I love being a dawg and representing my local university!”

Blair Corrington, Decatur, IL

Blair Corrington, Decatur, IL: “I am thankful for this scholarship, it will help me achieve my goal of earning a degree in biological sciences so that I can pursue a career in forensic biology.”

Gabriella Burkett, Carterville, IL

Gabriella Burkett, Carterville, IL: “I am honored to continue the Saluki legacy.”

Case Goldsmith, Shobonier, IL

Case Goldsmith, Shobonier, IL: “This scholarship means a lot to me because my mom and sisters went to SIUC and I am excited to follow in their footsteps.”

Elizabeth Lewis Memorial Scholarship:

Leah Hall, Carbondale, IL

Leah Hall, Carbondale, IL: “I am honored to a part of this legacy and use this opportunity to motivate my success.”

Peoria-Tri County Chapter Scholarship:

Olivia Tipler, Panola, IL: “I am honored to represent the Peoria Tri-County at Southern Illinois Carbondale, thank you for this opportunity!”

Perry County Chapter Scholarship:

Cheyenne Lynch, Coulterville, IL

Cheyenne Lynch, Coulterville, IL/Pinckneyville Community High School: “Thank you so much for allowing me to be the recipient of this scholarship. I can’t wait to continue my education and join the Saluki family this fall!”

Jacqueline Crain, Du Quoin, IL

Jacqueline Crain, Du Quoin, IL: “I am very grateful and humbled to receive this scholarship!” Luke 4:19 “My God will meet your every need out of his riches in the glory that is found in Christ Jesus.”

Prairie Capitol Chapter Scholarship:

Joe Eddington, Springfield, IL

Joe Eddington, Springfield, IL: “I am very honored to be the recipient of this scholarship. I am especially grateful to the local alumni for considering me for this award. Receiving this scholarship means a tremendous amount to me and I cannot wait to see what the future holds for me. I look forward to learning an immense amount at SIUC. Go Salukis!”

Randolph County Chapter Scholarship:

Zachary Zappa, Chester, IL

Zachary Zappa, Chester, IL: “I would like to sincerely thank the donors of this scholarship for putting it together and recognizing me as its recipient. This award will be very helpful in the funding of my upcoming schooling, as I plan on becoming EMT certified this summer. I look forward to starting my healthcare journey by serving the area that made me who I am today.”

Rebecca and Jerry Kill Scholarship:

Hannah Karl, Springfield, IL

Hannah Karl, Springfield, IL: “Thank you for supporting my education by choosing me as a recipient of the Rebecca and Jerry Kill Scholarship award. This scholarship will allow me to focus on advancing my studies in the Fashion Design and Merchandising program and to achieve my dreams in the fashion industry.”

Kaitlyn May, Metropolis, IL

Kaitlyn May, Metropolis, IL: “I’m honored to be a Rebecca and Jerry Kill Scholarship Recipient. I’m going to be a third-generation Saluki and SIU has always felt like home. It’s exciting to follow in the footsteps of my parents and grandfather by attending SIU.”

Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship:

saiah Deiters, Marion, IL

Isaiah Deiters, Marion, IL: “Receiving this scholarship has been a humbling and inspiring experience. I wholeheartedly appreciate the financial support this scholarship will provide, and it will help me to focus solely on my education. I am excited to attend Southern Illinois University in the fall and am inspired to eventually give back to future SIU students. I sincerely thank the SIU Alumni Association for choosing me as a Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship recipient.”

Emma Lagerhausen, Carbondale, IL

Emma Lagerhausen, Carbondale, IL: “Having received this scholarship means a lot to me. I’m truly honored to continue my family’s legacy at SIU as well as to honor Mr. Pulliam’s memory. I’ve just finished my sophomore year at SIU and I’m so glad I decided to become a Saluki like my parents. SIU’s campus really feels like home to me, and I’m always amazed how much professors enjoy working with their students, whether it be answering questions during class, being available during office hours, or providing extra credit or special interest projects to their students. I’m excited to make the most of the time I have left at SIU and to become an alumnus myself! Thank you to the Pulliam Family and to the Alumni Association for making scholarships available to students like myself!”

Caroline Chwalisz, Carbondale, IL

Caroline Chwalisz, Carbondale, IL: “It’s an honor to be one of the Roscoe Pulliam Memorial Scholarship recipients this year, and I’m touched to be a part of the legacy my family has left here at SIU. Congratulations to the other recipients!”

Francesca Burkett, Carterville, IL

Francesca Burkett, Carterville, IL: “I am honored to continue the Saluki traditions and legacy through receiving this award. Being a Saluki has meant developing dedication to academics, research, and service to others. It is such an inspiration to follow in the footsteps of the SIU Alumni who have gone before me.”

St. Louis Area Chapter Scholarship:

Friederich Owen, St. Peters, MO

Friederich Owen, St. Peters, MO: “It really came as a surprise to me. It’s an honor to be chosen out from among many other qualified candidates.”

St. Louis County Scholarship:

Olivia Wolff, St. Louis, MO

Olivia Wolff, St. Louis, MO: “I am honored to receive this scholarship because it represents recognition for all my hard work as a student at Oakville High School. This scholarship will also help me with expenses as I pursue a degree in Architecture. I am so excited to be a part of the Saluki Family!”

Support Black Undergraduate Education Endowed Scholarship:

Da’Ziya Faust, Marion, IL

Da’Ziya Faust, Marion, IL: “I am sincerely honored and thankful to have been selected as the recipient of the Support Black Undergraduate Education Endowed Scholarship. As I complete my education at Southern Illinois University of Carbondale, I am very thankful for your generous gift. Because of your scholarship, I will be able to pursue my dreams of becoming a forensic accountant.”

Jermaine Gunn, Chicago Heights, IL

Jermaine Gunn, Chicago Heights, IL: “Thankful for this opportunity to move forward.”

Leah Hall, Carbondale, IL

Leah Hall, Carbondale, IL: “It is wonderful to be supported by others who value education in Black, Indigenous, and People of Color communities. It is times like these when that support means the most. Thank you.”

Union County Chapter Scholarship:

Lexie Lingle, Anna, IL

Lexie Lingle, Anna, IL: “I am extremely grateful and excited to be able to continue my education at Southern Illinois University Carbondale! Receiving this scholarship means a lot to me. This award will allow me to cover expenses and lessen the stress and worry that comes with college. I am extremely honored and thankful to be chosen for this scholarship.”

Andrew Hawkins, Cobden, IL

Andrew Hawkins, Cobden, IL: “I am humbled, honored, and most of all thankful to have been selected the recipient of the SIU Alumni- Union County Chapter scholarship. This award will go a long way in reducing the financial burden that I will incur during the pursuit of my Bachelors of Nursing degree.”

Washington D.C. Chapter Scholarship:

Christopher Castrogiovanni, Ashburn, VA

Christopher Castrogiovanni, Ashburn, VA: “I am extremely grateful to be given the opportunity to accept this award. Especially in these uncertain times awards like this mean a lot to many people to help relieve some of the stress put on by the pandemic. And receiving this award takes some of that stress off my shoulders and will definitely help me out a lot. Thank you so much SIU Alumni Association and the Washington D.C. Chapter.”

Williamson County Chapter:

Gabriel Kosco, West Frankfort, IL

Gabriel Kosco, West Frankfort, IL: “With the opportunity given to me by the Saluki Alumni, I will be able to further advance closer towards my goals and aspirations in the business field. I am glad to be a recipient of the Saluki alumni Scholarship and with future success, I would love to potentially join the Saluki Alumni association as a member myself so I can reinvest into others as the alumni have done for me.”

Ivie Morris, Herrin, IL

Ivie Morris, Herrin, IL: “Receiving the Williamson County Chapter Scholarship is a great honor; I greatly appreciate the support. I am so thankful for the reward, and am excited to put it to use in furthering my education.”

--

--

SIU Alumni Association
SIU Alumni Association

As the largest & oldest organization on campus, the SIU Alumni Association has been proudly serving SIU alumni & friends since 1896. https://www.siualumni.com