State of Love and Trust

by Pearl Jam from Singles — Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Brant G
Six Degrees of Radio
1 min readMay 30, 2022

--

~ A really strange time in my life ~

I played this one live dozens of times. It’s always a little weird to think back to you when this one hit and what was going on at the time. when singles was released, I was probably about 5 years younger than the characters in the movie but really felt a definite affinity for them. I always wondered what it would be like to live through the same kinds of experiences that they did since they were essentially the older siblings of the generation x we watched grow up through most of the 80’s movies.

But some of the lyrical themes of this one really resonated with what was going on in my life at the time back in the middle of my college years

And the barrel waves / Trigger shakes

Aimed right at my head / Oh won’t you help me / help me from myself

Thanks for checking out Six Degrees of Radio, and grooving along. If you don’t give this article the finger, or, y’know… a thumb, then I don’t know if you’re digging it or not.

--

--

Brant G
Six Degrees of Radio

Dad, husband, game commando, veteran, Army brat, writer, teacher, swiss-army knife of IT project teams