Vienna

by Billy Joel from The Stranger

Brant G
Six Degrees of Radio
1 min readJun 2, 2022

--

~ Folks only seem to know the hits ~

Growing up, my parents had a pair of landmark Billy Joel albums, The Stranger and Glass Houses. We listen to them quite a bit driving around in the car, especially in California. That was my first introduction to the idea of album tracks as distinct from the singles you hear on the radio. I couldn’t quite figure out why folks didn’t know every song on the album instead of just a couple of hits. This is frequently one of the ones I cite, as it is definitely a favorite of mine, and has been for over 35 years.

I’ve been known to belt it out along with the radio in the car, but never with anyone else in the car listening, as I really don’t want to get arrested for sonic assault

Thanks for checking out Six Degrees of Radio, and grooving along. If you don’t give this article the finger, or, y’know… a thumb, then I don’t know if you’re digging it or not.

--

--

Brant G
Six Degrees of Radio

Dad, husband, game commando, veteran, Army brat, writer, teacher