One week post pulminarey embolisim

Still tickin but at a snail’s pace…rough I tell ya…rough

It’s now been a week since being driven over an hour to the closest ER down a mountain pass at midnight, in a blizzard in the grips of what was diagnosed as an acute pulmonary embolism, double pneumonia, and UTI attack (with urine retention in the bladder). Having been stabbed more than once in my life, I would equate the pain level within the same range with the addition of the knife being twisted.

As Rodney suggests above, nobody gets by unscathed in this life. I’m just not used to life-threatening attacks from my own body,,, welcome to my 65th year of life at the max or sometimes over max settings. That’s a new “trending” fact of life I was not aware of thus far. My own body is attacking itself without my prior permission. Hate it when that happens….musta missed that Zoom meeting…my bad. In three years I’ve withstood a heart attack, three TIA’s, and now a PE. I didn’t totally sleep through all of Mister Essen’s 9th grade math. I see where this train is headed. I’m a pragmatic SOB…I smelt it and dealt it…own it.

On one hand I think that I can’t possibly have a life experience any better than mine so why try to top it, lay down and take a nap. I’ve sung my best song, not going to have to top myself in order to take that nap. Or do I? Nobody can tell me what’s going to happen when this scrawny little body I got dealt dies what comes next. It might even be a field of flowers as in What Dreams May Come…

It could be….cool!

Robin our friend is gone…looked happy here…

Anyday we wake you we might not…

One week now I have that thought in my head now…

--

--

Steve Barr's Medium Profile
“Six Months in a Bunker”

Author, Publisher,Veteran In Residence @ Bunker Labs, Co-Founder & Host at El Lodge Taos , Open Range Steward, Human Rights & Environmental Advocate, Ski Bum.