Watch your step! © Barb Dalton

A Collection of Clutter

Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Collections.”

Barb Dalton
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readOct 22, 2022

--

‘Where’s Waldo’— or antique heaven scenario?

What happens when a buyer wants the beige table in the foreground with a gazillion pieces on top of it?!

Honestly, I didn’t even see the table for the clutter. But I do wonder what they would do if someone was interested in that piece buried under a pile of stuff.

This antique store has been around for years in North Hatley, a small town East of Montréal. Somehow it remains ‘viable’ despite only being open at the weekend.

I’ve been there several times over the years, and I wonder if they ever sell anything. It was even more cluttered from the last time I was there, and the goods have now spilled over to a shed out the back, which is equally congested.

You could easily spend a day in there if you were to explore every nook and cranny. But mind your step: I almost knocked over a bunch of stuff with my small shoulder bag as I carefully navigated the narrow pathways.

I did ask the sales lady if she ever dusted. Apparently, the owner does it periodically with a Swiffer!

Looking back over this and a few other pics that I snapped while briefly perusing the laden shelves, I spied an old rotary phone.

Can you find it?

Have a collection you want to share? Check out all the details here on how to write a six-word story and participate in this challenge.

--

--

Barb Dalton
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Mum to 3 humans, 2 fur balls. Kiwi-Canuck. Nursing Instructor by day; rants, reminisces and rhymes by night. Owner of Nursing Notes, Editor at The Daily Cuppa