Caterpillar in my garden- Photo Credit- Shubha Apte

PHOTOGRAPHY | TRAVEL | SANDI’S JULY PROMPT

A Morning Encounter with a Tiny Wonder

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

Shubha Apte
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Tiny visitor in my kitchen garden

In our kitchen garden in Pune, we had a curry leaf plant.

One fine morning, as I was watering the plant, my foot brushed against something unexpected. I looked down and, OMG! It was a caterpillar. Startled, it immediately curled up into a tight coil.

Feeling a pang of guilt for disturbing it, I gently picked it up with a piece of paper and placed it back on the curry leaf plant. It looked like a tiny snake! It was no ordinary caterpillar; it was a Spicebush Swallowtail Butterfly Caterpillar.

I couldn’t help but wonder if it would survive or become a snack for the birds or ants. Night after night, it hid among the leaves, feasting on the curry leaves under the cover of darkness.

I observed it every day, watching it grow bigger and stronger. To my relief, it remained safe.

I was eagerly hoping to see it transform into a beautiful butterfly. To protect it from predators, I moved the plant closer to my kitchen window so I could keep a close eye on it.

But one day, much to my dismay, it just disappeared. Nature had its plans.

Nature has a way of etching memories into our hearts, whether through grand landscapes or small creatures. It is not only people that we leave behind who make memories; these tiny creatures also create memories.

The memory of finding this caterpillar in my kitchen garden still stays with me.

--

--

Shubha Apte
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

A self-improvement advocate, my journey unfolds through , travel, and life experiences, and insights gained navigating the corporate world. www.shubhaapte.com