Labybug on my leg
A picture snapped by K. Joseph of a ladybug that landed on her leg while she was at ‎⁨Hammonasset Beach State Park⁩, ⁨Madison⁩, ⁨Connecticut⁩, ⁨for an impromptu birthday trip in 2020. © K. Joseph, 2020

A Unique Birthday Blessing: The Ladybird On My Leg

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

K. Joseph
2 min readJul 29, 2024

--

Nature disrupts stress like nothing else.

A moment before, I was thinking, Is 51 too old for the corporate grind?

On the occasion of my birthday and that sun-drenched day off at the beach, the possibility of retirement seemed as distant as the horizon.

Then, a tiny red miracle descended—a ladybug landed on my jeans. I relaxed my facial and shoulder muscles, sighing softly. I carefully picked up my phone and snapped this picture.

For a fleeting moment, the world narrows to this: me, the beach, and a crimson speck. That cute creature reminded me that joy can be found in the smallest creatures, even amid life's big questions.

Photo and story ©K. Joseph. All rights reserved.

🎶 Home…Home on the range 🎶 came to mind when I saw this photo:

--

--

K. Joseph
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Change management leader sharing ideas and experiences that may help you navigate the world of work with your fellow humans.