Statue of an archer
Photo by author

Aim High

February Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Statues”

Rodrigo S-C
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

I am aiming for you, dear

Cupid was a chubby little boy with wings. He liked to play with his bow and arrow. He is known as the Roman god of love. Legend claims that Cupid had the power to make people fall in love with each other. If he shot someone with his arrow, they would fall in love.

Seems like an appropriate tale to share in the month of February, as the significant cultural celebration of love and romance known as Valentine’s Day fast approaches.

Well, as you can see from the photo, that statue ain’t Cupid. That powerful goddess represents my beautiful and strong partner — the woman who pierced me with her arrow and made me fall in love with her.

I did not resist, or complain. I have medical insurance. I accepted my fate as it was delivered. I knew I had become an impotent victim of love under her irresistible spell.

Why did she aim her arrow in my direction? That, my friends, is the million-dollar question. A mystery shrouded in reticence. I ain’t that cute. She could have pierced anyone. Why in the world did she aim her arrow towards me still baffles me.

So she got what she was aiming for. Her spell worked as intended. I fell in love with her. Exactly as the legend claims. She became the center of my world. She now stands enshrined in the soft embrace of infinite love. You may not see her wings, but she is an angel.

--

--

Rodrigo S-C
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Photographer, art gawker, musician, psychology geek, septuagenarian. You want fries with that?