Northern Adriatic Sea, Croatia. Image by author.

All Roads Lead To…

May Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “This is Me”

2 min readMay 13, 2024

--

This is where my heart is.

The view from my cousin’s apartment on the 8th floor was stunning. Stretched out in the vast plain, there laid the capital city, with modern skyscrapers here and there, rows of elegant 19th-century buildings beside wide avenues, and a few green patches crossed by white walking paths.

I used to come and visit my cousin quite often, so as a young girl, I was already familiar with the place.

But there was one thing I couldn’t gather.

“How on earth do you find your bearings here in this labyrinth, with no sea to help you?”

For me, it was unimaginable. A street can either run parallel to the coast or it can lead you to the shore. That’s it.

The sea. A giant presence in my life.

Whenever I’m worried or upset, I just walk to the shore, stroll along, or stand still and listen. If I can’t reach the sea, I try to find a spot where I can get my eyes full of its calming shades. If I’m away, I miss this pure display of nature.

The sea’s overwhelming presence makes me, well, me.

Thank you Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles for this insightful prompt.

--

--

Thinking, overthinking, writing, painting, exploring languages. Teaching. Some of it probably at the same time.