Photo by author

Authenticity

Six-word photo story challenge: Freestyle

--

Is this Aster real or fake?

As I was asking myself this question, an expert arrived.

Could a fake flower fool a butterfly?

False nectar.

Sixty years ago, my Engineer father said, Paul, be a thinker, not a feeler.

Fifty years ago, my Shakespeare Professor said, Paul, you’re a feeler, but you got the highest grade in the class.

Forty years ago, my Ph.D. honored thought.

Thirty years ago, my marriage misunderstood love.

Twenty years ago, my OCD wreaked havoc.

Ten years ago, my thoughts and feelings reconciled.

Yesterday, a butterfly landed.

And stayed for a drink.

“To thine own self be true.”

For butterflies, it’s easy.

For humans, it sometimes takes a lifetime.

--

--

Paul Gardner
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.