Credit: Anne Bonfert

WRITING PROMPT RESPONSE

Best Friends on a Hike in the Desert

March Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Pet People”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readMar 23, 2022

--

Three friends exploring the vast Namib.

It didn’t take me long to become friends with this dog called “Zak.” It just took me a bit longer to lose my fear of dogs in general but this Irish Terrier quickly became my best buddy in a land far from home.

In the endless beauty of the country of Namibia, I quickly made friends with people from all around the world. And their children. The girl on the left is the daughter of one of my friends over there. Here we went on an excursion into the desert. We left town by foot, had some water in the backpack, and just hiked through the sand.

Together with Zak, my new best friend.

Mary Chang asked us to share our pet stories in the March writing prompt. While this dog never really belonged to me, he and I grew together. We went on several excursions into the desert, cured out our hangovers together (this dog gets serious hangovers from partying all night), and became more than friends.

I decided to make a series out of this prompt because I got more stories to tell and experiences to share even though I never owned a pet.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.