A table with lovely porcelain teapots, cups and saucers, with some scones, clotted cream and homemade jam.
Cream Tea at Angels Tea Rooms, Babbacombe, Torquay, UK. Photo by author

Cream Tea, How I Love Thee!

August Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Food”

1 min read1 day ago

--

Jam or cream first? Definitely cream!

There is something inherently intimate in sharing a meal, looking at the familiar face on the other side of the table, and enjoying food together.

Many love stories start over a meal. A romantic dinner in a restaurant or a simple takeaway, anything we eat together can bring us closer: it is as if we open ourselves to a more personal connection.

I love exploring new food and enjoy it even more when there’s someone dear to me to share it with.

On that lazy summer afternoon, Maria and I unhesitatingly agreed that Devon cream tea was a real treat. Homemade jam, clotted cream, and freshly baked scones: what is there not to like? Plus, a delicious cup of English breakfast tea.

Each time I’m in Devon, my feet immediately take me to a place, possibly with a sea view, to enjoy this afternoon bliss.

--

--

Thinking, overthinking, writing, painting, exploring languages. Teaching. Some of it probably at the same time.