Author with her Aussie Shepherd.
Furry love is the best love. Photo by me.

PHOTOGRAPHY

Doggie of Divorce

Six Word Photo Story: Freestyle

2 min readAug 26, 2022

--

Ranger’s my name, love’s my game…

…well, not a game exactly. If I was asked what my purpose in life was, I’d say first, to be a dog, and second, to love humans.

The lady in the photo with me is my human mom. Ten years ago, she and her family adopted me and promised me a forever home.

The first few weeks together were rocky. I slept on top of the boots near the patio door because they reminded me of my sisters and brothers and got to know the lady everyone called Mom and the Dad and their kids, Emma and Jack.

I recall a time, early on, when everyone left the house to go to work and school and it was just human mom and me. She was sad and cried a lot when it was just her and me. One day, I got dirty from the spring mud. She got mad and pulled on my collar to get me into the bathtub.

I don’t like the tub. I put up a fight and growled at her. She sat on her haunches and cried for a really long time while I shivered in the water. She then pulled me out, real gentle like, and wrapped me in a big fluffy towel.

“I’m sorry. I’m sorry. I’m sorry,” she kept saying and I kissed her face all over. She was my forever mom.

--

--

Judy Walker
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Curiosity led. Relationship fed. Writing about the gritty, lovely, naughty, and joyful bits of humanhood. jituska.jw@gmail.com