Antique china doll in a bed of rhododendron and mountain laurel petals.
Faerie Baby. ©Marie Jones, 2022. All Rights Reserved.

Faerie Story

Six Word Photo Story: Freestyle

Marie F. Jones
2 min readMay 18, 2022

--

Faerie lurks in bright spring petals.

I was gathering fallen flowers to photograph for the “nature art” challenge, and I remembered this antique china doll I’d tucked away with other family hand-me-downs. I’ve romantically pictured my Great Aunt Til playing with this doll in the garden, having tea parties and imagining fairies at play among the flowers.

Like many Victorian images of children, the doll looks like a miniature adult, not an innocent child. When I placed it among the flowers, the side-eyed gaze seemed sinister, more like the dark Celtic faerie tales of changeling children and never-ending dances than the mischievous flower fairies. (More on the difference between fairies and faeries)

So this little faerie lies in a blur of glamour among the fallen mountain laurel and rhododendron petals.

Will he take you to the Seelie Court?

Follow me for more photography, memoir, researched curiosities, and practical productivity. Hit that envelope icon at the top of the page to find my work in your mailbox; you’ll find I usually publish once a week. And if you aren’t already a member of Medium, I encourage you to join using my link. I promise it’s worth the subscription price to read the work of people who are much more interesting than I am.

--

--

Marie F. Jones
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Librarian-turned-Business Professor. Curious human. Random thoughts, leadership, photos, memoir, books. messydeskconsulting.com