Author’s Image of Multi-Colored Cauliflower

Farmer’s Market Delight

January Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Fun”

Libby Shively McAvoy
2 min readJan 17, 2024

--

Rainbow food fun at the market!

Having just moved to the Phoenix area this past August, I am still getting used to the farmer’s markets. I was surprised that Phoenix grows such a variety in this desert climate. In fact, they grow pistachios, cotton, wheat that is sourced to Italy for pasta, alfalfa that is sourced to Saudi Arabia, and many other crops.

When I went to several markets in August and September, I was surprised I did not find local fruits and vegetables. Instead, I found baked goods, dog treats, candles, jewelry, and other unique wonderful items. But the farmer's markets I was used to.

Well, low and behold, It turns out the fresh produce is more prolific, it seems, in the winter months. I have been taking Aspen to the biggest Market, Uptown Market, on Wednesdays to socialize her. I was delighted to find this rainbow selection of cauliflower along with local cabbage, multi-colored carrots, parsnips, tomato, many different mushrooms, and fresh fruit.

Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you have enjoyed it. You are amazing. 🩵

Peace & Light,

Libby

--

--

Libby Shively McAvoy

"HI" Writer, Personal Development and Relationship Coach specializing in Emotional Intelligence, Yoga Instructor, Mom, Speaker, traveler, & seeker