A bowl of whole-grain cereal topped with berries, walnuts, raisins, pumpkin seeds, and cinnamon.
Photo by Author, Shereen Bingham

Happiness in a Bowl

August Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Food”

--

Cereal sundaes launch an energetic day.

What do you like to eat for breakfast? My favorite breakfast is a delicious homemade cereal sundae! It quashes my hunger and gives me nutrients and energy for whatever the day has in store.

Varying the sundae’s ingredients prevents the meal from boredom. For instance, my photo shows a colorful bowl of whole-grain flakes and shredded wheat squares topped with raspberries, raisins, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, and almond milk.

To keep things interesting, I may choose a different cereal — or yogurt — and top it with strawberries, banana slices, almonds, sunflower seeds, and soy milk the next day. I prefer organic fresh ingredients but happily use frozen fruit when fresh is out of season. With all the possible ingredient variations, it’s easy to keep my taste buds guessing and satisfied.

I like to call this meal a “cereal sundae” because it’s a reminder that nutritious food is fun and delicious. When most people hear the word “sundae” they think of ice cream with chocolate sauce and whipped cream topped with a maraschino cherry. While an ice cream sundae is yummy, it is packed with saturated fat, sugar, and empty calories. Instead, I envision a sundae of whole grains, fruit, nuts, seeds, and plant-based milk or yogurt. A cereal sundae is yummy too, but provides healthy fats, carbs, protein, and fruit without added sugar.

If you’ve never tasted a cereal sundae, I hope you will try one. You don’t have to use the same ingredients I do. Be creative! Choose ingredients you love that are healthy for you. If you’re like me, eating the sundae will bring you happiness and launch you on an energetic day!

Many thanks to Mary Chang Story Writer, Sandi Parsons, and Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles at the Six Word Photo Story publication. Vidya’s prompt for August is a tasty delight!

--

--

Shereen Bingham
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Communication Ph.D., venturing out from success as a scholarly writer to explore terrains of creative nonfiction, poetry, and fictional short stories.