“Little Bisou’s Toes.” Photo ©Erika Burkhalter

Photography, Cats

I Have Cute Toes and I Know It

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Don’t you wanna kiss those toesies?

I remember this moment like it was yesterday. My tiny little Bisou, just six-weeks-old, woke from a snooze on my lap to stretch his arms overhead and yawn. His ten tiny pink toepads splayed out wide, like “yogi toes.” His angel-white baby fur peeked through those toesies. And check out those furry armpits!

One quick stretch, and then he curled back into a little ball and squeaked at me.

His voice used to be so high-pitched that nobody but me could hear him.

Bisou and his brother, Raja, arrived in our home at just six weeks of age. Fluffy, a little wild, and scrumptiously kissable, they had been rescued and fostered for a week or two.

Bisou has developed an audible voice now that he is eight years old. But he still has the cutest little pink toes — and a nose that matches. And he still does a “tummy-up” sprawl that melts my heart.

I love my little boy so much. And this photo always brings back such a sweet memory for me.

Erika Burkhalter is a yogi, neurophilosopher, cat-mom, photographer, and lover of travel and

--

--

Erika Burkhalter
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Photographer, yogi, cat-mom, lover of travel and nature, spreading amazement for Mother Earth, one photo, poem or story at a time. (MA Yoga, MS Neuropsychology)