Photo by author

PHOTOGRAPHY, SELF, JANUARY PROMPT

I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times

January Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Self”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Wanted a plane. Got this instead.

Indiana Dunes National Park is a little bit of paradise on the south shore of Lake Michigan. Even with Chicago’s skyline shimmering in the distance, it feels a million miles away from everything.

With our options limited by the pandemic last year, we decided to drive down and spend the night. The park is only a couple of hours away from our home, and it gave us a great reason to visit a state our kids hadn’t yet been to.

Besides the water & beaches, there are quite a few hiking options available. You can also do plenty of bird watching if that interests you.

On this day, a different type of bird had my attention. As I was sitting on the beach, a World War II era B-17 was doing low passes over the lake as part of a nearby airshow.

Convinced I could get a beautiful picture of this bird, the lake, and the distant skyline all in one frame, I grabbed my phone. Opening the camera app, I aimed skyward and snapped, convinced I got a good shot. The plane was so close I could feel it. How could I not have?

--

--

Kevin Alexander
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Indie music journalist | Mixtape maker | EIC The Riff Magazine | Writer of the On Repeat Newsletter on Substack |