Photo by Author

I’ll Take the Backroads Every Time

February Six Word Story Challenge: Freestyle

Mark Krauss
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
3 min readFeb 3, 2024

--

Never let insomnia ruin your day.

“It’s not yet four AM; my eyes are wide open, and I have that restless feeling again. Insomnia is not always the worst thing that can happen to us. Sometimes, it’s nature’s way of nudging us into a special day. With a kick of my leg, I am up having my coffee. My mind is racing, and my energy is nearing out of control! So, I do what I always do: lace up my shoes and hit the door for my morning run.

For me, this is the best start to any day, no matter how difficult it can be sometimes, and sometimes it is. The combination of the crisp Kentucky morning air, the sight of my breath in the darkness, and the feeling of blood rushing through my veins is beyond description. I truly believe this is what it means to be consciously in the moment, aware, and alive. And I feel blessed.

That four-and-a-half-mile morning run is like the opening song from your favorite concert. Suddenly, insomnia is a faint thought, and you realize how much you look forward to the rest of the show! However, it’s time to shower up and fire up the motorcycle for the next part of this beautiful morning. Within minutes, I left our sleepy neighborhood under darkness and made my way to the unique backroads of Kentucky. The sight of two-lane winding roads, endless white fences, and farms, all set in a lush green environment, is the perfect complement to my morning run.

In what seems like an instant, I have ridden a hundred miles, and I see the sun begin to rise in my mirrors. I pull over to the edge of the secluded country road. The fog lays across the landscape like a silk blanket, with the sun gently burning it off. It is at this point that I find myself alone and in peaceful thought. I walk slowly away from my motorcycle, only looking back once to shoot this picture, and I realize…

Our time here is limited. And while we all have our share of challenges and hardships, it is incumbent on us to open our eyes, take in the beauty, and embrace the life that we are given. We only have this ability if we push, work hard, and accept even the parts we can’t control.

Wherever you are, I hope insomnia doesn’t find you and that you find sleep each and every day. But in the times you don’t, I hope that you do not let it take control of your day. Get up, get out, and chase down that part of life that few see or even look for. It is usually no further than your own backyard. And for goodness' sake, engage in all of the opportunities that you are given!! Oh, yeah, be sure to shoot a picture; will thank you!!

~Forever The Student

Mark Krauss 2024😎😎🌈🌈🏃‍♂️🏃‍♂️

--

--

Mark Krauss
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Husband, Father/Grandfather, Retired Engineer, Dedicated Runner, Avid Golfer, Lifetime Motorcycle Enthusiast, Struggles with Writing, Inquisitive, Mischievous