Photo by Genka Shapkarova

PHOTOGRAPHY

Japanese Cherry Blossoms, a Reflection of our Fleeting Lives

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readApr 15, 2024

--

You are so alive, yet ephemeral.

Life is magic, a fairy tale magic that we fall into, but for such a short time. Can life be so wonderful, given the sadness and negativity that exist? It is surely too short to wonder whether or not to live it.

We don’t know how much time we have left, so every second counts. That’s what I think each spring as I admire the Japanese cherry tree blossoms.

I saw such a tree for the first time in Madrid, but I’d already heard about them from my sister. She shared photos of the blossoms when she worked in Washington, DC. It was strange to realize that they live for such a short time, bloom, and quickly fall, wither, and die.

When I took the photo today, I realized that this is exactly what I see: standing in front of this tree, looking at its beautiful blossoming crown.

This tree is a reflection of our human life — a short and quick adventure to be lived to the fullest. Yet, we often forget to do that.

That’s especially the case when we are stuck in the mud and afraid to move.

--

--