Photo by author

Let Me Out Please

May Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “This is Me”

Rhonda Carrier
1 min readMay 29, 2024

--

I am her trained personal assistant.

She is technically not my dog. She belongs to my son and his family, however, we all live together. She doesn’t understand that I am retired from work, but she knows that I am usually around. She also knows I am the one who will respond to her the fastest.

If she needs to go outside, she comes to me. The entire family might be home, but she comes to me.

She stands politely looking at me. If I don’t get up as soon as she arrives, she gives me a polite but quiet, “woof”. Then she stares at me until I get up to let her out into the backyard.

When she wants to come inside again, she stands just outside the backyard door. She peers in through the window and says, “Woof. Woof.” Two woofs are the signal for “Let me in now, please.”

She has me very well trained.

As I am writing this now, she is sitting beside me in my chair. She is keeping me company. We are constant companions.

--

--

Rhonda Carrier

I’m a retired international educator. I love nature, gardening, photography, traveling, and spending time with my family.