Photo by author

PHOTOGRAPHY | ECLIPSE | CANADA

Living On The Path Of The Totality

Six Word Photo Story Challenge — Freestyle

2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

When day suddenly turned to night.

The schools were closed for the day, the cops prepared to deal with the onslaught of tourists coming to my neighbourhood to see the eclipse, and I was totally unexcited about it. How wrong I was!

The day was grey and cloudy, and it looked like we’d need a miracle to see anything- it was impossible even to tell where the sun was.

I reluctantly stuck my hand in my pocket and paid for the Nightsky app just so I could locate the sun.

As I walked the dog along the main road the cars were at a standstill as people queued to make it to the lakeside park. What’s the point? You won’t see anything, I thought.

Still, best be prepared. I got my iPhone tripod out, and made one of those pinhole camera head box things so I wouldn’t be blinded looking directly at the sun.

Then, with ten minutes to totality, the sky began to clear. It was still cloudy, but I could see the sun shining through, and my pinhole box was working reasonably well.

Dusk began to fall in the middle of the day. It was subtle but definitely darker…

--

--