Image of a snow-covered road with trees on either side.
What lies beyond the drop in the road? Photo by author

PHOTOGRAPHY | REFLECT

Looking Down the Long Road for a New Season

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Bruce Coulter
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Is this winter’s last blustery blast?

After work, I ran a few errands before coming upon this road. I pulled over to photograph another winter wonderland during a late-season snowstorm.

Every March, I tell my daughter, Briana, we’ll have one last storm, even during a mild winter, as this was. And every time, she tells me what I can do with that one last storm.

Kids.

I’m a winter fanboy. I love trekking through the snow with my camera in tow. There’s something about that fluffy white stuff I love — and it’s not shoveling.

But come March, I’m ready for some color. And now we’re in the first week of April. I’ve been desperate enough to photograph buds on trees in mall parking lots, anything to get a little color.

So, as I look down the road in the photo above, I have to wonder: What awaits me at the end of that precipitous drop in the road? Perhaps a yellow brick road will lead me to a world of ruby-red tulips and bright yellow dandelions waiting to strut their stuff for the camera.

--

--

Bruce Coulter
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

I'm a retired, disabled veteran with MH issues. Tomorrow will be a better day. Join me and others on Medium. https://medium.com/@brucecoulter_75270/membership