Photo by J. Dean

Photography, Climate Change

Not Everyone Worries About Global Warming

April Six Word Photo Story: Freestyle

John Dean
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
1 min readApr 14, 2024

--

Tragically, climate change might be inevitable.

The car could not be missed. It was big and red. The word “HEMI” was featured on the hood, referring to a 5.7-liter monster of an engine. The owner was not around, so I snapped a few pictures.

I wasn’t admiring the Dodge Charger Daytona. I like cars, but the only emotion the Charger evoked in me was anger. As climate change progressively renders our planet uninhabitable, whoever owned the Charger had bought themselves a huge toy that sucks down gasoline to give the middle finger to fuel efficiency. The car moves all of 16 miles on a gallon of gas.

You won’t mistake the Dodge for a Tesla. Fortunately, Dodge is not building any more HEMI Dodge Chargers after this year’s model.

I did not want to lose my teeth, so I did not speak with the driver. After my short photography session, I saw him walk to his car, fire up his monster engine, and resume his campaign to raise sea levels, produce more severe hurricanes, and exhaust the rest of Earth’s fossil fuels.

© 2024, John E. Dean, All Rights Reserved.

--

--

John Dean
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.