Photo Credit- Author

Onam: A Celebration Of Food And Tradition

August six-word Photo Story Challenge: “Food”

Shubha Apte
2 min readAug 13, 2024

--

Enjoying Onam food on banana leaf

Onam is a vibrant harvest festival celebrated in Kerala, the southern state of India.

My best friend and neighbor, who hails from Kerala, hosts an Onam Sadya(feast) every year, inviting all the ladies in our building. I eagerly anticipate this event, as it’s the one time of year when I get to enjoy a traditional feast served on a banana leaf.

Onam is a festival that brings together fun, food, and flowers; my friend ensures it’s a grand celebration.

She meticulously arranges a beautiful flower display at her entrance, setting the perfect festive tone. All the ladies come dressed in traditional Kerala attire, adding to the cultural richness of the occasion.

Eating on a banana leaf is a cherished practice, especially in South Indian culture. The warm food on the leaf adds a subtle flavor, enhancing the taste and helps in keeping the food fresh.

Onam falls in September this year, and I’m already looking forward to the Onam Sadya(feast). My favorite dish is Payasam, a delightfully sweet treat.

Enjoying a meal on a banana leaf is not just about the food — it’s a deeply cultural experience that I cherish every year.

--

--

Shubha Apte

A self-improvement advocate, my journey unfolds through , travel, and life experiences, and insights gained navigating the corporate world. www.shubhaapte.com