Photo: R.C. Flores-Gunkle

Orange, the Color of Love

Six Word Photo Story: Freestyle

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
1 min readOct 12, 2022

--

‘Fragile orange wind in the garden.’

This lyric by Adrianne Lenke, the lead vocalist and guitarist of the band Big Thief, spoke to me when I was photographing Gulf fritillaries one morning recently. I didn’t remember where I heard or read this verse — a quick Wiki search led me to the source. My mind does seem to store fragments of found beauty.

Orange is the color of my love / Fragile orange wind in the garden.

One butterfly had a portion of a wing missing. A metaphor for the fragility of love?

Note: Like this? More of my photo essays are HERE. For my fiction, poetry and other writing, please browse HERE.

Not a member of Medium? You can join HERE. There is no limit to the number of stories you can read. It is very affordable and a portion of your membership fee goes to the writers you read (like me).

--

--

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

An aged humanist hanging on to the idea that there is hope for humankind against most current indications.