Pickle shop in Kemeraltı Bazaar, Izmir, Turkiye — photo by author

Pickles Galore

August Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Food”

--

I’ll take one of pickled everything.

Turkiye has endless street food options, from grilled corn on the cob to simit (Turkish sesame bagel) to kokoreç (sheep intestines typically served in a sandwich).

The pickles in Turkiye are unparalleled to anything I can find in the States. They pickle cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, and a variety of peppers, just to name a few. I’ve even spotted pickled bananas in one shop. Vinegar, lemon, rock salt, garlic cloves, and distilled water are typically used for pickling.

I savored a small cup of cold pickle juice from this shop. So refreshing on a warm summer day.

If you ever find yourself in Turkiye, be sure to indulge in some pickles. They’re good for the gut and soul.

Thank you, Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, for the August prompt on food.

--

--

Lela Hannah
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Poetess. Fiction writer. Explorer of the what-ifs and why-nots. I spend a lot of time in my head. Come take a glimpse inside.