Photo Credit- Shubha Apte (My picture clicked by my son, Vikram)

Playful Liberation: Letting Go Off The Fear And Embracing The Moment

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Play”

Shubha Apte
2 min readJul 17, 2023

--

Let’s rekindle the kid in us.

Somewhere along life’s journey, I have lost the child within me, making it difficult to express my emotions.

The fear of judgment prevents me from shedding tears or freely laughing, playing, or dancing in the rain.

However, during a trip to Mahabaleshwar last summer, everything changed. We stayed at a hotel with a beautiful children’s play area, and I decided to let go of my inhibitions and embrace the child within me.

The refreshing breeze of this hill station washed away my fears, and I wholeheartedly enjoyed swinging and having fun.

That day, I made a promise to myself, to never restrain the child within me again.

This experience reminded me of the Hindi film song, “ Zindagi ek safar hai suhana Yaha kal kya ho kisne jaana.Hanste-gaate jahaa se guzar
Duniya ki tu parvaah na kar.”

The song conveys the message that life is an unpredictable and marvelous journey. We shouldn’t worry about the future, but instead be carefree, laugh, sing, and cherish the present moment, disregarding the opinions and concerns of the world.

Many thanks, Mary Chang Story Writer, for such a wonderful publication and thanks to the editorial team and Sandi Parsons for this lovely July Prompt.

--

--

Shubha Apte

A self-improvement advocate, my journey unfolds through , travel, and life experiences, and insights gained navigating the corporate world. www.shubhaapte.com