Gray squirrel standing on a gravestone engraved “Mother” in Decatur Cemetery in Decatur, Georgia. © Randy Runtsch.

Reflecting to Prepare for Better Times Ahead

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Randy Runtsch
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readApr 22, 2024

--

I want to be a better me.

I have wandered the grounds of Decatur Cemetery several times during my visit to Georgia. It started housing the remains of the deceased in 1826. The old and unkempt graveyard is a peaceful place to ponder what those laid to rest there might have been like and reflect on life.

On this morning’s walk through the cemetery, I admired birds as they perched on gravestones. Then, a squirrel hopped on top of one. As it held its paws together, it appeared to be reflecting or even praying.

The furry creature made me think of my own life. While it’s been good, and I have been a decent person overall, I could improve myself. I could be better for others, too.

Here are a few ideas that come to mind:

  • Contact friends and family, especially my mother, more frequently.
  • Perform housework and cook meals before being asked.
  • Carry a plastic bag with me when hiking to pick up litter.
  • Go out of my way to help a person in need.

I hope to have two or three good decades before I am laid to rest myself. Thinking about how life might be if I could transform myself into a better me makes me smile.

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer