Sculpture at Marquette Park. Photo by author.

Sculpture at Marquette Park

February Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Statues”

1 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

The shape resembles flight over water.

Marquette Park in Gary, Indiana is where the Gary Bathing Beach Aquatorium is located. Here is where Octave Chanute first conducted some of the first heavier-than-air glider flights in human history in the high dunes just yards from the structure.

I couldn’t find any other information on the internet about this sculpture. I didn’t take close-up photos of the information marker when we were there. I love this sculpture and how it resembles wind, water, and flight all in one motion.

Thanks for stopping by and viewing my photo of this wonderful sculpture.

Please clap, highlight, and comment to let me know you were here.

--

--

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.