A kitten with orange and black fur and a white stomach and paws sits on a sofa.
Photo by Author, Shereen Bingham

She Was Cute as a Kitten

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readJul 17, 2024

--

Her adorable face warms your heart.

This story illustrates why we should remember to be grateful for the joyful things in our lives.

My photo is of my cat when she was 7 weeks old. She was the cutest and most amiable kitten I’d ever met. Her nickname was Jambalaya and she was a joy to be around. She grew up to be a beautiful and spirited cat member of our family.

Jambalaya loved to nestle beside me or on my husband’s lap when we relaxed in the family room, especially on cold winter nights. She was also a cheerful and talkative kitty and often conversed with me while I prepared breakfast in the morning. For example:

Jambalaya: “Meow.”

Me: “Good morning kitty, how are you today?”

Jambalaya: “Meoww!”

Me: “Oh? Tell me more about it.”

Jambalaya: “Meow, meow, meoww!”

Me: “Really?”

You get the idea. She was so cute!

Jambalaya developed a robust figure as she aged, partly because she ate her sister’s food. Little Gray grazed throughout the day, and when she left her bowl unattended, Jambalaya tiptoed over for a snack.

--

--

Shereen Bingham
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Communication Ph.D., venturing out from success as a scholarly writer to explore terrains of creative nonfiction, poetry, and fictional short stories.