So soothing to watch a snail — Vidya Sury ©

PHOTOGRAPHY | TRAVEL | SANDI’S JULY PROMPT

Slow Pace But Home Finally

July Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Cute Creatures”

--

Racing snail wins by a slime!

Around this time last year, I often accompanied my neighbor who is doing her PhD in Botany to the local parks. We’d catch bees for her research. The goal was to get the pollen sac on a specific species. I had a lot of fun wandering the gardens while she did her thing.

On one such trip, I watched a snail make its way across a slab of granite to the grass beyond. The morning sunshine warmed my neck and butterflies were busy having breakfast. There was a large crack in the granite and I wondered how the snail would make it. I watched.

What seemed like hours later, this cute snail approached the crack. I held my breath. Would it slip and fall? No. It simply extended its body like a rubberband. Even as I watched, the elongated snail reached across the chasm and made it to the finish line without breaking a sweat.

My heart was hammering. What a relief it was when the snail made it to its destination! Made me smile, thinking, there’s so much about nature’s critters we don't know. There’s a life lesson there somewhere. Oh, not the slow and steady winning the race, which is…

--

--

Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Boost Nominator, Publisher, Namaste Now! Editor, The Narrative Arc, Poet. Loves coffee, travel, cooking, photography, kicking diabetes' ass. vidyasury.com