My Miniature Tea Set with small kettle, milk pot, sugar pot, cups and saucer. Photo Credit- Shubha Apte

Small Wonders: The Charm Of Delightful Toy Miniatures

August Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Toys”

Shubha Apte
2 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Treasured Memories Of Miniature Tea Set

Thank you, Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles for such a joyful prompt.

It evoked childhood memories. My heart swells with nostalgia.

My Aunt gifted me this miniature tea set and a Barbie doll when I was three.

This little delight swiftly became the centrepiece of my imaginative escapades as I revelled in the art of serving tea to my dolls, parents, and friends.

I fondly recall the evenings when my father would return from his hospital's demanding hours. On occasions when my mother was absent, I would quickly retrieve my tiny tea set. With all earnestness, I would offer him tea. He would laugh, lift me into his arms, cradling my innocence and together we would go to the kitchen. He would then make real tea for both of us.

The echo of his laughter and the warmth of his embrace continue to envelop me, preserving the childhood memories.

While I gave away the Barbie to my cousin, I kept this tea set, as I have many memories attached to it.

When small children visit, they see this set in my display cabinet and look at it with awe. Their eager eyes light up at the sight, and their curious fingers yearn to explore its wonders.

While I allow them to enjoy the toys as I love watching them play and the smile on their faces, I remain a vigilant guardian.

Thank you, editorial team, Mary Chang Story Writer, Sandi Parsons and Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles for this wonderful publication.

--

--

Shubha Apte

A self-improvement advocate, my journey unfolds through , travel, and life experiences, and insights gained navigating the corporate world. www.shubhaapte.com