Photo by author

Smile and the world becomes a little better

November Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Collecting Smiles”

Paul Gardner
2 min readNov 23, 2022

--

Eight billion smiles lighten the world

Eight days ago, the world reached 8 billion people.

So many different smiles.

I want to add one more to the world’s smile mobilization each day.

After 73 years, it’s about time.

I don’t smile enough.

How about you?

Smiling takes effort.

I’ve learned when my mouth creaks to a smile, endorphins scurry off to my brain.

If I do this enough, my chances of dying of a heart attack are reduced by 9%.

That’s better than the little statin pill I take each night.

Five years ago, I tried an experiment.

One semester I crossed paths each day with another faculty member who I didn’t like because I thought she didn’t like me.

In the 20 years I knew her, she had never smiled at me.

Of course, I never smiled at her.

Do we ever stop being teenagers?

After a few weeks of curt nods at a sidewalk intersection, I decided to start smiling at Kim.

It was a ploy.

No, we never stop being teenagers.

I faked the feeling I hoped my smile was conveying.

Kim eventually reciprocated.

She was probably faking as well.

One year later, my partner Rebecca and I met with Kim in her office to talk about an off-campus program she had directed the previous year that we would lead later that year.

Kim generously provided many insights that would help us out. And continued to help via email throughout our experience.

And it occurred to me.

I liked Kim.

And it started with a put-on smile.

--

--

Paul Gardner

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.