Pelican at the Bannerghatta National Park. Vidya Sury ©

PHOTOGRAPHY | TRAVEL | SANDI’S APRIL PROMPT

Soon, I’ll Be Well Enough to Fly

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

--

Time to stand, stare, and reflect

This month has certainly been a time for reflection in so many more ways than one. I was down with the flu, in case anyone noticed I was missing for a week.

After waking up each morning, I saw a stranger in the mirror as I tried to get the toothpaste on my brush while steadying myself against the sink. Life has passed me by, and I’ve just about managed to eat, sleep, sometimes pray, and love. I’ve also had time to think. Being forced to stay in bed is a great life equalizer. We keep thinking we’ll slow down, and life gets a bit fed up and forces us to.

Lately, I’ve been feeling a little uninterested in things. This time for reflection, thanks to the flu, resulted in some ideas about what I wanted to do as I slipped in and out of consciousness. I am feeling better today, and as we celebrate the New Year across various regions in India, I am trying to feel like a new leaf. Tomorrow is my mom’s birthday, and I have been channeling her positivity to recover and get my life back on track.

--

--

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Publisher, Namaste Now! Writer, all genres. Editor. Poet. Diabetes Warrior. Traveler. Photographer. Hopeful. Wears son's oversized tshirts https://vidyasury.com