A brown-skin woman gazes at her reflection in a multi-faceted mirror against a white-paneled background. She wears a denim jacket and holds a cellphone camera with a bright floral case. Pieces of her face repeat and ripple out like an aura.
Photo Credit: Selfie by Beth Riungu

Spring Cleaning My Psyche

April Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Reflect”

Beth Riungu
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readApr 20, 2024

--

Falling into pieces from winter’s chrysalis.

At the beginning of his poem, The Wasteland, T.S. Elliot calls April the cruelest month; it mixes memory and desire, and stirs dull roots with spring rain. April is filled with the prodding call to venture out into life and the world after:

Winter kept us warm, covering
Earth in forgetful snow…

I don't find April cruel but I recognize it as the annual disruptor of my inner life.

I love the coziness of winter, the cold gray days when I can walk the beach alone except for the sandpipers, or stay home wrapped up in a great read. Then April arrives like the sound of someone busy in the kitchen, and I have to get out of bed and go downstairs to see what’s happening.

When I was much younger and less aware of the effect April had on me, I would go shopping for summery clothes in bright colors, and things to freshen up my tired living spaces. I rushed around, starting a hundred new ideas all at once, working late as the sun set later, and somehow never feeling tired.

Now I know better; new things will come and I will welcome them, but I take my time. My head still explodes with new or newly remembered thoughts, but I let them fall and see where they land before I pick them up, turn them over, and feel their measure.

Like a creature emerging from a chrysalis, I need a little time to settle within myself; to be warmed by the light and sniff the air before taking flight.

This story is a counterpoint to an earlier Six-Word Photo Story I wrote, called At the Tipping Point of Winter

Thanks for reading!

--

--