Photo by author

The Last Day of School

Six word photo story: Freestyle

Paul Gardner
1 min readSep 5, 2022

--

I will be good. I promise.

This beautiful quilt was woven by Dianne Duncan Thomas and is part of an exhibition at the Clarinda, Iowa Carnegie Art Museum.

Thomas titled this piece Promises, Promises.

You can take a virtual tour of her exhibition here.

The quilt provoked this memory.

Sixty years ago, that piece of chalk was in my hand.

For reasons that elude me today, Sister Mary Robert Cecile, my 6th grade teacher, kept me after school, on the last day.

Sacred Heart School was three miles from my home.

From a second-floor classroom window, I watched my school bus slowly move through the playground not to return until August.

Sister and I were alone in the classroom.

With chalk in hand, I started to write.

Twelve years later, I began my own teaching career, as a 6th grade teacher.

Apparently, I kept my promise.

--

--

Paul Gardner

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.